General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Any electrical engineers on here?

Search this Thread

Old 23-05-2008, 08:45 AM
mackers
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any electrical engineers on here?

I`m currently an electrician at the minute, got all my qualifications plus loads of courses I`ve done. I`m thinking of doing a hnc/hnd in electrical engineering then maybe working towards a degree. How difficult is the course and what is the minimum qualification I need to start woking in an electrical engineering firm? I`m interested in electrical design.
Old 23-05-2008, 10:11 AM
RsDarren
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

Location: Dewsbury, The parts were they don't abduct their own children!

I'm a Electrical Engineer in the making. I'm currently going through a 5 year development programme with my company. At the moment i am in my 3/4 year so it wont be too long before they let me loose on my own job?? ha

I qualified as an electricain then continued to complete the 'C' Certificate (which has now been stopped), B-Tec Higher National in Building Services (HND).

I went down the Building Services route as even though I am a electrican my aim is to eventually be a project manager which will require more knowledge of the buiding trade. But going down the electrical engineering route would have done it was just a personal choice. I love my job and everyday throws a new challenge!

My advice would be if you can handle doing the course at nights and the work load I would definately do it!
Old 23-05-2008, 10:13 AM
RsDarren
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

Location: Dewsbury, The parts were they don't abduct their own children!

There is no real level of qualification to work for a firm? If they can see you have the capabilities to do the job then they will take you on.
Old 23-05-2008, 10:14 AM
Nick D