Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

Ticking noise on Ka

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2006, 12:38 PM
r44flyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ticking noise on Ka

Hi all,

I'm trying to diagnose a problem with my girlfriend's Ka. It has developed a ticking noise from under the bonnet, which is loud enough not to be normal.

It sounded similar to a blown exhaust manifold gasket, and with a whiff of exhaust under the bonnet I thought this is what is was, so I replaced it. However, the noise remains. It's there on tickover, and when accelerating, but not when coasting, which suggests to me it's still exhaust related... but I'm baffled.

The other option is the tappets - is it a difficult job to adjust the tappets? I've never done it before and I'm no mechanic, but I get by.

Can anyone help suggest what might be causing it before she spends a fortune at a garage?

(The car is a 52 plate Endura with under 30k miles on it.)

Many thanks
Jim
Old 02-11-2006, 02:29 PM
SafeChav
10K+ Poster!!

Have you checked other gaskets in the exhaust system? And the exhaust itself?
Old 02-11-2006, 02:38 PM
r44flyer

What other gaskets are there? As far as I was aware, the manifold and cat are one integral part and there are no more joins until the downpipe meets centre section...? Would it be ticking from there? I'd have thought it would more likely just blow.

There could be a hole somewhere I guess, I'll try and have another look but access is a pain in the arse without having the whole part out, which isn't easy in itself. Ho hum.
Old 02-11-2006, 02:43 PM
SafeChav
10K+ Poster!!

Im not too sure where the other gaskets/joins are but dont overlook the exhaust itself.
Old 06-12-2006, 02:00 PM
Hobomassiv
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ITs probably the tappets m8.

Peice of piss to adjust with a feeler guage and a spanner.