General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Inlet options on a Zetec engine???

Search this Thread

Old 14-04-2010, 10:13 AM
pauluspaolo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inlet options on a Zetec engine???

Hi all - I'm very much a newbie here but some of you may be aware that I've fitted a 2 litre silvertop Zetec into my Reliant SS1 (formerly the home of a 1600CVH). Space is limited in the engine bay on the inlet side of the engine. I realise that twin 45's, with 5 progression holes, work best on the Zetec as flat spots are avoided, or can be eliminated on the rolling road. A set of these carbs have been fitted by at least one other owner (who's done a superb Zetec conversion). Unfortunately the price is way beyond my budget & fitting the carbs is not easy due to the previously mentioned space issues

Therefore I was wondering if anyone has ever fitted a pair of downdraught DCNF carbs to a Zetec engine before? I've seen a set of these carbs fitted to a Fiesta & another SS1 (both with the CVH engine) & they seem to work well in both applications. Adaptor plates are available to fit CVH manifolds to the Zetec head so I presume that one of these could be used to make the DCNF's fit? Has anyone any idea if the combination of twin DCNF's & a 2 litre Zetec engine would work?

I've also read a build thread where an owner has fitted a Zetec (1800cc though I think) into his Capri & he's used twin 40 DCOE's (Dell Orto's though not Weber) without any problems. Could this be another possibility for me to consider, though I presume I'd still have the same space issues as if I was using twin 45's?