Ford Puma Discuss the Ford Puma here!

Puma 1.7 top end rattle (loud!)

Search this Thread

Old 27-01-2011, 04:40 PM
dirntknow
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Puma 1.7 top end rattle (loud!)

Hi folks, it's my first post in here so hello and beers are on me (if there's any pennies left!)!
My wife's Puma 1.7 has had a light rattle on deccelaration and at certain revs for a while now but never been loud or too worrying til today. It's now there all the time when running and very loud. Not noticed any loss of power and seems to run ok but get quite vibey right at the end. Should have fixed it sooner/pulled up/stopped the engine sooner but the family have not had a good few months recently so put any car repairs/attention on the back burner.
Called AA out and he thinks it sounds pretty bad top end but could do no more. I'm no expert on multi-cylinder 4 strokes but have enough knowledge to have a look and understand a few things.
Noise sounds top end, camshaft/cyl head area. Timing belt is good and doesn't appear to have jumped a tooth. Noise apart, the engine seems to be happy to tick over rev (not that i've allowed it to so for too long!). Strange thing is, with plugs out the engine will turn with no interference. Plugs in, HT leads disconnected the engine still turns with no interference or noise. Only on firing and running does the noise start. If it had dropped a valve i'd have expected noise and erratic running at least? I believe there's something on the end of one of the cams for variable cam timing, could it be that failed or am I looking at head off etc?

I don't have a manual (yet) but can anyone point me to a link for an online microfiche to get an idea whats under the timing belt cover?

Last edited by dirntknow; 27-01-2011 at 04:41 PM.
Old 27-01-2011, 07:08 PM
tabetha
20K+ Super Poster.

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'd be getting a manual, and at the least stripping the lifters out.
tabetha
Old 27-01-2011, 07:44 PM
dirntknow
Virgin