Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

Help please god! Rs mk1

Search this Thread

Old 27-04-2010, 08:17 PM
Frsbasj
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help please god! Rs mk1

I think something has gone really wrong, I have little knowledge of engines! I bought an rs four days and am over the moon but drove to the shops earlier and turbo has lost power boost gauge only showing 0.5 instead of the usual 1.5 on full throttle in every gear?? Car was sold to me via a garage with engine management light on as garage said this was due to the modifications on the car! It has a piper down pipe with sports cat, bailey dump valve and a k&n gen2 filter. Really confused and to be honest totally pissed off! Apologies on starting off with my first post like this. Any ideas welcome please??

CheeRS

dave
Old 27-04-2010, 08:44 PM
saph_Al
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

Firstly welcome to the site, Second i assure were talking about a focus Rs , Did you hear any unusual noises before it stopped boosting ? is the engine management light still on ? If so it could be that the ECU is in limp mode to stop any more damage from happening . If so it may not be as bad as you think so don't go crying yet , ideally you need to find out if it's been mapped by anyone and who has written it . Im not to familier with the focus engine or EMS on them so couldnt say if they with run 1.5 bar on a standard map without it boost cutting . Do you have any more info on the spec ?
Cheers Ally
Old 27-04-2010, 08:56 PM
Frsbasj
Virgin

Cheers for the reply mate! The car has never been re mapped. I did think the motor could of gone in limp mode but it still has response, I thought limp mode made it run around like a tortoise?! Car made no noises out of the ordinary!!

Cheers

dave
Old 27-04-2010, 09:37 PM
saph_Al