Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

FORD ORION TURBO???

Old 17-08-2007, 02:08 PM
  #1  
<____ALEX____>
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: spalding
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default FORD ORION TURBO???

Hi people.
I have a 1.6 1989 orion and the engine is slowly packing up and i want to replace it with an escort rs lump.I have heard so many different stories of how to do it and what i will need to change and its got me real confused.my orion is running the MFI injection system not the EFI,will this be a problem and what will i need to change when fitting an S1 and S2 lump???? Will i need to change the engine loom?? im looking at doing this within the next 4 weeks and hoping to just buy a used engine and drop it rite in. all help is appreciated.
<____ALEX____> is offline  
Old 17-08-2007, 02:33 PM
  #2  
JesseT
PassionFord Post Troll
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,866
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What management are you planning to use?
JesseT is offline  
Old 18-08-2007, 07:32 AM
  #3  
<____ALEX____>
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: spalding
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

to be honest mate, im not to sure just yet,i need to find out which one will be easyest to install and what i will need to change on my car for them to fit.which one would you recomend doing?
thanks for the reply
<____ALEX____> is offline  
Old 18-08-2007, 11:30 AM
  #4  
jawanne
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 652
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi av neally finished my turbo i uesd the s2 loom and all running gear ...
jawanne is offline  
Old 18-08-2007, 12:44 PM
  #5  
<____ALEX____>
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: spalding
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool,did you need to change all the gear box aswell?
thanks
<____ALEX____> is offline  
Old 20-08-2007, 10:47 AM
  #6  
SafeChav
10K+ Poster!!
 
SafeChav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Posts: 13,798
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

By no means a complicated conversion as its the same car bar the arse end of it.

As Jesse said depends what management you want to run, there are many different options, but the engine and running gear will all drop straight in. A full Series 2 loom will take a couple of hours to fit to the car as one option.

The gearbox doesn't need changing, you can run the standard box if you so wish but i would strongly recommend fitting a proper turbo box so you benefit from the LSD.
SafeChav is offline  
Old 20-08-2007, 11:28 AM
  #7  
<____ALEX____>
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: spalding
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool so will the s2 loom fit both MFI and EFI engines? i think i might be going EFI..... not sure yet.
cheers
<____ALEX____> is offline  
Old 28-08-2007, 09:56 AM
  #8  
SafeChav
10K+ Poster!!
 
SafeChav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Posts: 13,798
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no.........mfi wiring is not even close to that of the efi set up
SafeChav is offline  
Old 30-08-2007, 10:54 PM
  #9  
djmillsy
Fife Radge
 
djmillsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Cumnock Hometown: Rosyth
Posts: 2,939
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

go efi its so much better mate
djmillsy is offline  
Old 31-08-2007, 10:51 AM
  #10  
<____ALEX____>
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: spalding
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yer i fink i am, are the ecu's any diferent for a fiesta rs and escort rs?
thanks
<____ALEX____> is offline  
Old 31-08-2007, 03:28 PM
  #11  
djmillsy
Fife Radge
 
djmillsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Cumnock Hometown: Rosyth
Posts: 2,939
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

yes there completely different
djmillsy is offline  
Old 31-08-2007, 09:46 PM
  #12  
<____ALEX____>
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: spalding
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh rite,well ive just bought my engine.not sure what year it is but its a EFI fiesta rs 1600.looks pretty standard and dosent come with ecu's or loom.will an escort loom and ecu fit the engine as i already have a S2 loom? i thought the engines were the same?
thanks
<____ALEX____> is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
orionguy
Technical help Q & A
0
06-08-2015 07:36 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: FORD ORION TURBO???


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.