General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Tremec tko to yb cosworth 2wd

Old 10-06-2019, 11:56 PM
  #1  
Spanky69au
Virgin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tremec tko to yb cosworth 2wd

Hi guy's has anyone fitted a tko box to a yb lm wanting to fit one up in my MK1 escort just wanted to know if there are any changes required like clutch, hydralic clutch tail shaft etc or is it jus some mods to the body and in it goes

cheers

Vince
Spanky69au is offline  
Old 11-06-2019, 09:35 PM
  #2  
jonfoc
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: God knows!
Posts: 2,312
Received 256 Likes on 241 Posts
Default

Have a word with Martin-Hadland at Reyland Motorsport. He will tell you all you need to know
jonfoc is offline  
Old 12-06-2019, 09:57 AM
  #3  
ajamesc
cossie fan (unluckerly)
 
ajamesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: hampshire
Posts: 9,124
Received 295 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

I had my bell housing modded by Reyland and will need to make a new crossmember I’m told. I believe the tunnel around the gear lever needs a mod as well so I’m told
ajamesc is offline  
Old 13-06-2019, 09:17 PM
  #4  
cossynut2
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Holbury,Southampton
Posts: 3,532
Received 248 Likes on 226 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ajamesc View Post
I had my bell housing modded by Reyland and will need to make a new crossmember I’m told. I believe the tunnel around the gear lever needs a mod as well so I’m told
Have you got a Tremec TKO gearbox fitted in your Saff? If so how does it compare to the T5?
cossynut2 is offline  
Old 13-06-2019, 09:23 PM
  #5  
ajamesc
cossie fan (unluckerly)
 
ajamesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: hampshire
Posts: 9,124
Received 295 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

It’s not in the car yet as I’m waiting on my engine. I have Rod Tarry’s old one. I have been in the car with that box. I don’t think it’s that different too a t5. My box is a little odd. Mine is an early 3550 but has the later tko 500 main shaft and larger rear bearing. Now I’ve re built it it also has the later one peace main shaft and I fitted carbon synchros on 2nd 3rd and 4th
ajamesc is offline  
Old 14-06-2019, 07:45 AM
  #6  
cossynut2
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Holbury,Southampton
Posts: 3,532
Received 248 Likes on 226 Posts
Default

From memory you are going for a 600+ bhp engine in your car so the right gearbox that will be strong enough is important. So will you be fitting Rod's old one? How positive is the gear change compared to a T5?
cossynut2 is offline  
Old 14-06-2019, 08:02 AM
  #7  
ajamesc
cossie fan (unluckerly)
 
ajamesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: hampshire
Posts: 9,124
Received 295 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

Yeah mine is rods old box. That’s the main thing I’ll not break it
ajamesc is offline  
Old 14-06-2019, 07:59 PM
  #8  
lee2cossies
PassionFord Post Troll
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south wales
Posts: 2,982
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Bellhousing needs modifying and a spacer plate needs too be fitted. In a Sierra need too cut the transmission tunnel hole 50mm further forward too clear selector. Can use standard crossmember but alloy plate that bolts too box needs re positioning. Different clutch too, 2 extra splines from what I remember, pj motorsports sorted one out for me. Biggest problem is the spigot, the main shaft is bigger than a t5 so ideally u need the crank counter bored too take the tko spigot, I made up a brass bush. Custom speedo cable needed if using standard clocks, lastly prop needs tko end fitted. Reyland used too do the conversion but impossible too get hold of never answer emails or even reply too Facebook comments.
lee2cossies is offline  
Old 14-06-2019, 08:36 PM
  #9  
james kiely
10K+ Poster!!
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: god knows
Posts: 12,135
Received 279 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

lee i think my tko has 14 spline and i think mine came from pj possibly aswell
james kiely is online now  
Old 14-06-2019, 08:59 PM
  #10  
ajamesc
cossie fan (unluckerly)
 
ajamesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: hampshire
Posts: 9,124
Received 295 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

Mines an old box that should have 10 input and 28 output splines. But as mine has the later 500/600 main shaft it has 26 input and 31 output. I’m sure my input is ground it fit the YB crank
ajamesc is offline  
Old 15-06-2019, 09:21 AM
  #11  
Martin-Hadland
1st to 200 without NOS
iTrader: (2)
 
Martin-Hadland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 12,224
Likes: 0
Received 93 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by lee2cossies View Post
Bellhousing needs modifying and a spacer plate needs too be fitted. In a Sierra need too cut the transmission tunnel hole 50mm further forward too clear selector. Can use standard crossmember but alloy plate that bolts too box needs re positioning. Different clutch too, 2 extra splines from what I remember, pj motorsports sorted one out for me. Biggest problem is the spigot, the main shaft is bigger than a t5 so ideally u need the crank counter bored too take the tko spigot, I made up a brass bush. Custom speedo cable needed if using standard clocks, lastly prop needs tko end fitted. Reyland used too do the conversion but impossible too get hold of never answer emails or even reply too Facebook comments.
You are correct in that the lever position is around 2" further forward than a T5 but I would never cut the tunnel. No need to bore the crank or use a TKO spigot, a bush works just fine but we don't use brass. we still sell the conversion and keep a full kit in stock which looks to being sold shortly, that customer didn't find it impossible to get ahold of me! Since departing from work on Cosworths my business has moved on leaps and bounds and as a result I'm flat out all of the time but I still get way too many emails asking for advice and its hard to find time to answer them with all the other inquiries we get. Anyhow here's a pic of my Sierra gear lever position and gearbox.




Martin-Hadland is offline  
Old 15-06-2019, 11:08 AM
  #12  
james kiely
10K+ Poster!!
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: god knows
Posts: 12,135
Received 279 Likes on 261 Posts
Default

i am i right in saying the shift tower is moved back 2 inches martin?
james kiely is online now  
Old 15-06-2019, 11:50 AM
  #13  
Martin-Hadland
1st to 200 without NOS
iTrader: (2)
 
Martin-Hadland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 12,224
Likes: 0
Received 93 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by james kiely View Post
i am i right in saying the shift tower is moved back 2 inches martin?
Yes thats correct
Martin-Hadland is offline  
Old 15-06-2019, 05:12 PM
  #14  
Adam-M
PassionFord Post Troll
 
Adam-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,830
Received 260 Likes on 240 Posts
Default

So are you saying you still sell the kit Martin? As in everything you will need to fit a tko600 into a saph?
Adam-M is offline  
Old 15-06-2019, 07:13 PM
  #15  
lee2cossies
PassionFord Post Troll
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south wales
Posts: 2,982
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Martin-Hadland View Post
You are correct in that the lever position is around 2" further forward than a T5 but I would never cut the tunnel. No need to bore the crank or use a TKO spigot, a bush works just fine but we don't use brass. we still sell the conversion and keep a full kit in stock which looks to being sold shortly, that customer didn't find it impossible to get ahold of me! Since departing from work on Cosworths my business has moved on leaps and bounds and as a result I'm flat out all of the time but I still get way too many emails asking for advice and its hard to find time to answer them with all the other inquiries we get. Anyhow here's a pic of my Sierra gear lever position and gearbox.



The reason I was trying too contact you was regarding having the box spaced too save me cutting the tunnel, appreciate you are busy but I even tried replying to comments on Facebook and had no reply.
i made a bronze bush not brass got confused there.
How come that box has what looks like a 4wd mount? Mine has the 2wd type.
lee2cossies is offline  
Old 16-06-2019, 07:02 PM
  #16  
Martin-Hadland
1st to 200 without NOS
iTrader: (2)
 
Martin-Hadland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 12,224
Likes: 0
Received 93 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Adam-M View Post
So are you saying you still sell the kit Martin? As in everything you will need to fit a tko600 into a saph?
Thats what I said above!
Martin-Hadland is offline  
Old 18-06-2019, 02:20 PM
  #17  
R4N SS
Professional Waffler
iTrader: (6)
 
R4N SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ?
Posts: 27,124
Received 145 Likes on 138 Posts
Default

think i will be going down this route in the future as long as the kit is still available from Reyland.

Got a few T5 boxes i can sell to help pay for this lol
R4N SS is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Alg1k
General Car Related Discussion.
31
25-06-2013 05:07 PM
Kevin Sharp
General Car Related Discussion.
19
14-02-2009 05:17 PM
escort700bhp
Cars & Parts Wanted.
2
08-01-2009 01:24 PM
Ryan
General Car Related Discussion.
10
29-06-2006 06:47 PM
Cosing
Technical help Q & A
0
10-05-2004 12:34 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tremec tko to yb cosworth 2wd


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.