General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Cosworth boa hot starting prob

Search this Thread

Old 25-06-2014, 07:19 PM
Sapphcosv6
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cosworth boa hot starting prob

Hi all, ive been building a sapphire cosworth with a v6 boa for a few months now, got car moted ok but got hot starting problems now, its had a new fuel pump and filter, new fuel rail pressure regulator, all new temp senders but still no luck, car starts fine from cold and will run all day, bit as soon as you switch off and try to start it cranks but doesnt fire up until you leave it for a few hours then it starts but sounds like its misfiring for a minute or two, ive changed ecu and coil pack as well, and cap is off fuel tank so no vac probs... Help me pls im close to pitting it on the bay!!!!
Old 25-06-2014, 07:49 PM
mk2grp1
going sideways in a fwd

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

sounds like it could be running rich,,
Co2 sensor ?? starting ok on cold is when more fuel is required, plugs may look sooty,
are they gapped correctly , correct plugs for engine, ect , air leak,
throwing some possibles at ya, don`t give up
Old 25-06-2014, 08:14 PM
Sapphcosv6
Virgin

Was advised these can be run without lambdas !! Do you think this is the prob?
Old 25-06-2014, 08:31 PM
mk2grp1
going sideways in a fwd

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

I can`t say, just like that ,
I know your capable of examining spark plugs,, black soot = rich
checking grade of plugs change if old or if incorrect, set to correct gap
may be worth getting a co% test, obviously keep the car running or you`ll be there for a long time
Old 25-06-2014, 09:02 PM
scoobypete
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post