Ford Focus RS This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Focus RS Range.

Mk2. Focus RS - Power upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 12:47 PM
AlbertRsTurbo
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mk2. Focus RS - Power upgrade

Hello everybody,

I'm new to the ford scene, having recently bought an ultimate green Focus RS. Before the Focus I had a mildly tuned Audi S3.

The focus is currently stock - right down to the silver alloys, and I'm looking to increase its engine performance to around about the 400-450 bhp. This is where my quandary starts, coming from a VAG I know about REVO products already, but that's the only the only company I have any in depth of who can remap the focus to near what I'm after.

I have attended many cars shows in my S3 and had always made a point of speaking to Focus RS owners to find out their opinions of the car (as I had almost decided I was going to buy just was'nt 100%) the overwhelming response was epic car etc.
One thing which has concerned me is that almost all I spoke to had a horror story about someone they knew of at almost every single Engine tuner in the Focus RS tunning arena.

I was told by several people to avoid Jamsport due to mapping issues, cars not making power on independent rolling roads and also herd of engine failure!?!
Also to my surprised, I was warned by at least 2 people about using high BHP REVO maps as piston damage had been found on cars running their software for prolonged periods!?!
Are these just people spereding malicious rumours or is there any truth in the horror stories? If true can they be backed up with evidence/outcome of problem?