PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Ford car Forums listed by Model. > Ford Escort RS Cosworth
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Ford Escort RS Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Escort Rs Cosworth.

Welcome to Passion Ford!
Welcome to Passion Ford.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Passion Ford today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17-03-2007, 02:10 PM   #1
AJB
15000
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend Essex
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Engine mounts - fitting advice needed

Getting a vibration when accelerating hard, could this be engine mounts ?
Is there any way of telling when they are on there way out ?
Was thinking about uprating them but don't want engine vibration transmitted through the car. Would like to know what experience people have had with vibra-technics and collins mounts.
Is it worth changing the gearbox mount as well ?
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
AJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2007, 04:51 PM   #2
ECOS95
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Berks
Posts: 2,003
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AJB,
I've got the same symptoms, does the engine move much if you rev it from under the bonnet ??
I can feel the vibration in mine through the floor.

Chris.
ECOS95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2007, 04:51 PM   #3
Billabong
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northants
Posts: 9,076
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've got the Collins mounts on mine (engine) and haven't noticed any nasty vibrations.

Quite a few people have said they don't like uprated gearbox mounts after having fitted them.
Billabong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2007, 05:35 PM   #4
S3an
PassionFord Post Troll
 
S3an's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Workington Cumbria
Posts: 3,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to S3an Send a message via MSN to S3an
Default Re: Engine mounts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJB
Is there any way of telling when they are on there way out ?
Yes when the car spits the off side drive shaft out
__________________
S3an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2007, 08:31 PM   #5
AJB
15000
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend Essex
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Chris
There is some movement from the engine (no more than I would expect) when you rev it but I haven't compared it with another cossie, so how much is too much ?
The problem is you can't see whats going on under the bonnet at full throttle when I get the vibration.
My vibration is also felt more through the floor and to the left hand side, it doesn't seem make any difference what revs just at full throttle.
AJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2007, 08:38 PM   #6
redrsmk5
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: in a dream world at present
Posts: 1,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Collins mounts on mine, theyre superb!!!! when i bought mine theyre was lots of vibration and this was felt under load, but with new collins mounts theres none at all. Worth the £££ too.
__________________

" You'll Never Walk Alone "
JFT 96 - 15th April 1989....never forget them.
THE most successful English Club Ever!

View the madness here - underside resto finished!
http://www.passionford.com/forum/vie...asc&highlight=
redrsmk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2007, 08:57 PM   #7
german tony
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oberfranken
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had a vibration prob similar to the 1 you describe. Turned out to be the shaft that runs from the back of thr gearbox forwards to the front diff. Apparently the UJs go regularly. Jack the driver's side of the car up (assuming it's RHD) put your hand on the shaft & give it a wiggle.
german tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2007, 09:44 AM   #8
Jon(M600BHP)
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As above Had 3 new front propshafts on mine
Jon(M600BHP) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2007, 11:03 AM   #9
ECOS95
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Berks
Posts: 2,003
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AJB,
I was the same way, what is normal ???

Just had a mechanic friend look @ mine, he put a jack under the engine on the N/S (Passenger) and was able to move the engine. Not by much, but we did find that fluid from inside the mount on that side started to come out.If you look at the engine you'll notice it lifts on the passenger side, so the mount on that side is constantly getting abuse.

I would of thought if the Front prop was on the way out you would feel it under the drivers side & it would vary with speed.Could be wrong though.

Have U checked the N/S drive shaft for play ???

Chris.
ECOS95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 09:06 PM   #10
AJB
15000
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southend Essex
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Got some new vibra-technics engine mounts
Just need some advice on the best way to fit them.
I have a small turbo with A/C and its a bugger to get to the bolts under the inlet manifold
AJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 09:53 PM   #11
thedaddie
PassionFord Regular
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: colchester/essex
Posts: 442
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

engine mounts did not add much vibration.

i changed the gearbox mount + cradle mounts after the above and this gave alot of vibration in the car.
thedaddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2007, 03:32 PM   #12
Mike Rainbird
Caraholic
 
Mike Rainbird's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Norwich
Posts: 26,403
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AJ,
If it does it under acceleration, this would indicate to me that the CV joints are fucked, or the "spider" (or tripod as it is also known) has collapsed where the drive shafts go in....
__________________
Mike Rainbird
Sarcasm is just a free service I provide.
http://www.rsnorfolk.co.uk/
Nordschleife, there's only two barriers to worry about - the ones on the left and the ones on the right .
Mike Rainbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2007, 09:54 PM   #13
spoontheloon
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJB
Got some new vibra-technics engine mounts
Just need some advice on the best way to fit them.
I have a small turbo with A/C and its a bugger to get to the bolts under the inlet manifold
Hi, I'm new to this site but I fitted Vibratechnics mounts only last week and have not noticed any more noise over the standard mounts.
The original one under the intake manifold had ripped in half.
You need to remove the throttle housing and intercooler pipework to get access to the bolts under the intake manifold.
Hope this helps.
Kev
spoontheloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2007, 07:09 AM   #14
- Sim -
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
- Sim -'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jülich / Germany
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to - Sim -
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJB
Got some new vibra-technics engine mounts
Just need some advice on the best way to fit them.
I have a small turbo with A/C and its a bugger to get to the bolts under the inlet manifold
quite easy work

put a car lift under the oil pan with a piece of wood, put it up, so that the engine moves some mm, not much, just a bit.

uk drivers side:

Click the image to open in full size.


Click the image to open in full size.


open the "big" nut on the engine mount, then unscrew the 4 screws fitted to the engine arm at the block, and unscrew the 2 engine mount screws on the lower power steering and so on assist. put the new mount in and then first one done.

uk passenger side:
open the big nut on the top of the mount, and then the problem starts, lift the engine up as much as possible. the engine arm can be unbolted too, but this will be pain in the ar** work, as the oil filter arm goes straight before it. so I left mine in place.

With a bit moving the stock mount can be taken out.

the new vibra mount has a big screw in it, untighten it, so that the part above the rubber will be shorter. If you did this, the mount will fit in place and you can start to tighten the big screw. the alloy plate where the engine arm will lay on, will be holded by the engine itself, so you can tighten the big screw problemles.

Click the image to open in full size.

lower the engine and tighten all things - job done.

everything done:
Click the image to open in full size.


i did this on 17th of may and now my drive shaft problems are gone, the car feels totally different.

these are the old and one new:

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
greetz - Sim -


http://www.passionford.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=221905

German Cosworth Forum
www.turbostylez.de
- Sim - is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2007, 10:26 AM   #15
S3an
PassionFord Post Troll
 
S3an's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Workington Cumbria
Posts: 3,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to S3an Send a message via MSN to S3an
Default

found it a lot easier to take the new mounts to bits to fit them,was really easy after struggling to put them in complete. just removed the boost pipe to access them.
__________________
S3an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2007, 11:21 AM   #16
- Sim -
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
- Sim -'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jülich / Germany
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to - Sim -
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K5SSY
found it a lot easier to take the new mounts to bits to fit them,was really easy after struggling to put them in complete. just removed the boost pipe to access them.
yes it is in fact,

look on my 3rd pic,

but on the uk drivers side, there is the inner screw, i had problems to get it loose, so i unmounted the engine arm and it was no problem to reach it.
__________________
greetz - Sim -


http://www.passionford.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=221905

German Cosworth Forum
www.turbostylez.de
- Sim - is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2007, 09:11 AM   #17
Mr.Ford
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Mr.Ford's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Mr.Ford
Default

- Sim -

That's a good "how to do" guide
__________________
- Escort MK1 RS2000 AVO (1974) Show-car
- Escort MK2 RS2000 Flatnose GRP4 (1977) Show-car
- Escort MK2 RS2000 (1977) Show-car
- Escort MK2 1.6 Sport (1979) Show-car
- Escort MK2 Crayford convertible (1976) Resto-project
- Sierra RS500 Cosworth No 47(1987) Show-car
- Focus ST 2.5 20v (2006) Daily
- Mondeo Titanium S tdci Wagon (2007) Daily


Mr.Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2007, 06:02 AM   #18
mcossie
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you think it's collin's or vibra tech the better engine mount or they 're same quality???

I saw: when you fit uprated engine mount, you must change gearbox in uprated mount too what about???
mcossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2007, 07:16 AM   #19
- Sim -
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
- Sim -'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jülich / Germany
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to - Sim -
Default

you should change this mount also, i ll do in the near future.

it recommended as you ll have more vibrations then, after fitting the "hard" engine mounts.

Vibra Technics has 2 series, street mounts and competition mounts, and bailey just has 1 series or? I think there are some diffs, the street series are much smoother, i suppose, I can't really tell as I ve the comp. series.
__________________
greetz - Sim -


http://www.passionford.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=221905

German Cosworth Forum
www.turbostylez.de
- Sim - is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2007, 07:16 AM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
collins, engin, engine, escort, fiesta, fitting, focus, ford, instruction, montings, motor, mount, mounts, passenger, st, technics, tips, vibra

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.