Restorations, Rebuilds & Projects. Restoring her to Concourse? Just getting her running again? Or got a mad project? This is your room.

Its alive !!! - S2 RST engine swap

Search this Thread

Old 29-07-2004, 10:05 AM
eclipse

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Its alive !!! - S2 RST engine swap

I used to have a S2 RST a couple of years ago that was running 221bhp with 212lb of torque but sold it to a friend when I bought my Scooby. about 6 months later my friend was involved in an accident and the car was sandwiched which resulted in the chassis spliting in 3 places. I bought the car back from the insurance company to save my engine. It has been sitting on my driveway for about a year till I bought another RST to transplant the engine into.

The one on the left on the drive is my old car and the one on the road is the new one.

The next challenge was to swap the engines, I have no mechanical experience at all but I thought it could be fun. I had a mechanic friend who helped me crane the engines around but left me to connect everything up.

Above my 221bhp engine looking a bit of a state after sitting for a year but still started first time.

Above is my old car with its heart ripped out!

Above, my new car about to have its standard engine removed.

Above, empty engine bay of the old car.

Now that both engines were out it was time to swap then around. So we decided the put the engine from the new back into the old one first for storage till it has been sold. (looking for £1000 rebuilt engine only done 4000 miles, new turbo and new gearbox have all receipts that come to £2500).

Above, Old car receiving new engine.

Above with my old engine in the new car it was time to start connecting all the electrics, pipes and charger cooler.

Above, now for the exhaust, off with the magnex system and on with my custom build.

Above, all ready and it started first time yeah!!! my first time do anything mechanical to a car and it was a success.