General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

cossie bottom end rebuild - parts ??

Search this Thread

Old 19-10-2010, 12:11 PM
cutch
Series 1 4x4 cossie

Received 43 Likes on 35 Posts
Default cossie bottom end rebuild - parts ??

Right guys i am going to rebuild the bottom end on the cossie before it goes back in the car, i know the crankshaft oil seals are needing done but what else do i need to buy and where from........i'm a newbie to this, going to have help from a mate that knows what to do but i'm learning! I would like to replace all the shells, do i need to get new rings for pistons while i am there??? .Who would you recomemend for parts.
Old 19-10-2010, 12:13 PM
Lambchop
PF Idiot Sniper

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Did you see my reply on this post inc ars for sale?

I have a crank should you want/need one. .25 grind and polish.

Last edited by Lambchop; 19-10-2010 at 12:14 PM.
Old 19-10-2010, 01:37 PM
cutch
Series 1 4x4 cossie

dont know if i need it yet mate, going to split it and have a looksie, hopefully shouldnt. trying to keep costs down......the builds costing a fortune!
Old 19-10-2010, 01:38 PM
cutch
Series 1 4x4 cossie

oh i might have found someone that can make the series 1 alloys in 17".......its going to be pricey!
Old 19-10-2010, 01:54 PM
saph4be
PassionFord Post Whore!!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

matt lewis for ya parts youll need full set off bearings,thrust washers, arp con rod bolts while your there pistonrings if the bore is within tolerance, oil pump if it worn and a set off gaskets i think that about it mate!
Old 19-10-2010, 04:11 PM
pete mcrash
saff is working!!!...atm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

as above......phone matt lewis
Old 19-10-2010, 06:18 PM
-beefy-
formerly beefy-rst-2

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

ideally mate , strip the bottom end and have parts inspected ,