General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

anyone changed career?

Search this Thread

Old 13-10-2009, 08:05 PM
n13los
PassionFord Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default anyone changed career?

looking for peoples opinions or advice please

i work as a parts advisor/manager at a truck dealership at the moment, i've been doing this sort of job (cars & trucks) since leaving school 10 years ago. i've always enjoyed my work, i think mainly because of my interest in cars but lately i find it is boring me senseless.

not sure if its the place i work or the length of time i've been doing the job, so i've been thinking about a change.

not sure what i want to do yet but would like to get out of the office, last year i did an evening course in fabrication & welding which i really enjoyed but i am no where near skilled enough to get into that.

the other problem i have is my current job pays a decent wage, i could afford to take a small pay cut but i couldn't drop down to trianee wages.

so, has anyone ever found themselves in the same situation? what did you do? do you regret doing it??

cheers Neil
Old 13-10-2009, 08:14 PM
Mint FRST
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

Surely the question to ask yourself, is it a good time to change i.e. Economic climate...?
Old 13-10-2009, 08:19 PM
n13los
PassionFord Regular

i know, but nobody knows how long it will go on. so how long do carry on being unhappy before i become i contagious demotivated whinger? the type of person i hate.
Old 13-10-2009, 08:25 PM
seannygoat
RST Fiesta

i'm in a similar position m8. been workin as a builder for 5 years plus, but ever since leaving school wanted to be a mechanic.

the oppartunity has now come up 4 me to do this but it means a little pay cut, and a change of work completely. but i think rather than b unhappy in wat your doin u should just go 4 the change!!!