General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

A topic about a great friend and a true Professional.

Search this Thread

Old 18-11-2007 | 07:13 PM
Stu @ M Developments
PassionFords Creator

Default A topic about a great friend and a true Professional.

I have been working in the Automotive tuning industry for many many years now and in that time i have met hundreds, in fact no, thousands of people, as have most folks in their profession.

Of these thousands of people, i dont normal gel too closely with anyone, preffering to keep business and friendships very seperate. I choose to do that for many reasons, but one of the main reasons is because you tend to find people leech onto you for what they can get. You can always tell the type after you have made the mistake of letting them get a bit too close...

Phone rings..
New friend X: "Hi stu.. its X... just calling for a chat"
Me: "Hi pal, yadda yadda yadda..."
New Friend: "Yadda yadda.. etc etc"
Me: "Cool well thanks for calling mate, speak soon"
New Friend: "Oh, whilst i remember, since your on, ive got a problem with my car"

This scenario has repeated itself hundreds of times over the years, on the phone, at shows, out for meals, and it really does, (to coin a phrase intoduced by another great friend of mine, "Comedy Dan") Drain the fooking life out of you!!

Anyway, to the point of the topic.
A few years ago now i mapped a fast T4 powered Sapphire for a fella from the midlands. From the very first phone call i liked the chap, he was down to earth, didnt try to tell me my job, but put across his impressive knowlege and understanding sensibly, which is nice as i cant stand it when a customer tries to pretend he knows everything when he clearly doesnt as it makes the job much harder.