General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Fancy going Snowboarding in the new year..!?

Search this Thread

Old 16-11-2007 | 03:45 PM
Westy
10K+ Poster!!

Default Fancy going Snowboarding in the new year..!?

Ive never done it before so a complete beginner.. was a dab hand on the Skateboard tho if that helps..

questions..

Im not wanting to fork out a small fortune but where would be ideal for a bunch of beginners?

Im guessing it works out more cost effective to rent all the gear.. (just in case I hate it..)

Looking to go in the month of January, probably just a week..

Anyone got a chalet they rent out?

Thanks
Old 16-11-2007 | 04:13 PM
Rolls
PassionFord Post Troll

If its your first time, you'll be wanting to go to board school IMO - will help you get the most after a week on the slopes..
And, yeah, renting all of your stuff the first time is certainly the best idea, although you can pick up some cracking deals if you look about, and want to buy...
Old 16-11-2007 | 04:16 PM
GARETH T
Professional Waffler

go to one of the indoor snowdomes and do a few lessons to see how you like it, theres one in tamworth and one in milton

renting the gear is alot cheaper,, but im sure you'll get the bug, i dont know anyone whos been and not liked it

have a look at cheapys to andorra, pas dela casa, cool town and the slope is right in the centre and the pubs are ok
Old 16-11-2007 | 04:20 PM
Fil
ELASTIC BAND

andorra ( pas )comes up cheep, and is pretty easy going on beginners and boarders, all chair lifts

drag lifts on a board dont look fun!

Im a skiier, but rented out a board and boots this year for 2 days was 25 euros, about 70 for he week. Found the basics easyish by just getting on with it, ( never had lessons ) as ill loose it with the instructor