General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Slicks Compared To Road Tyres

Search this Thread

Old 17-07-2007, 07:44 PM
_DAN_
Yoon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slicks Compared To Road Tyres

Could be an interesting thread........

I was wondering what's the main components between bald road tyres and slicks.

I understand that if road tyres are worn and become bald the grip level deterioates vastly.

Yet, why is it that slicks are bald to look at and provide vastly superior grip?

Is it because to get that 'sticky-ness' and grip out of them you have to warm them up a fair amount? What would happen if you put some tyre warmers on a pair of bald, worn road tyres?

I am fairly new to tyres and the principles behind them and could do with some in-lightment.

Old 17-07-2007, 07:47 PM
AlexF
10K+ Poster!!

Its down to how the tyre is made, its construction.

When worn out a road tyre is has about 2-3mm between the road and inside of the tyre

Remember any tyre with thread has it for one reason - to shift water out the way!!

Alex
Old 17-07-2007, 07:50 PM
Dirty Harry
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

driving on slicks is a totally different experience to any road tyre ever the best do not touch the performance of a slick,as to putting tyre warmers on a bald road tyre it would make it even worse as it would over heat
if you look at the history of track days why people crash insated of making there car handle and stop and fit proper tyres they over heat road tyres and hit the pit wall or end up in the kitty litter
Take your average fast road car add a set of slicks and then go around the track,you will see and also feel the difference
Old 17-07-2007, 07:52 PM
nilrem
STOP!... Carry on

different compounds help aswell...