General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Firearms

Search this Thread

Old 20-06-2007, 11:27 PM
PhilM
PassionBMW.com Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Firearms

Anyone here got a firearms cert?

Basically....through the RAFVR(T) I'm a qualified Weapons Instructor and have now just done my Range Management course (SA(SR)07) with the Small Arms School Corps.....which has inspired me

Anyway, aside from what I can do with service rifles on service ranges....I'd like to own my own rifle, for use in my spare time.

My step dad has a FAC and a few .22 rimfire rifles, and lives on a farm. He's obviously got an arms chest and uses it for target shooting and pest control.

I'd like to get my own FAC and rifle or two, but don't know anything about how to go about it.....Basically it'd be used for improving my marksmanship (because despite being about to instruct the weapon, coach marksmanship and run ranges....I'm a sh*t shot ). But in my position I can do all the above, but theres often little opportunity to spend time putting rounds down myself.

Would ideally like to purchase something a bit more exotic than a standard 0.22 rimfire, have seen a few nice rifles kicking about AR-16s, theres also a straight-pull 0.223 mag-fed rifle I quiet like the look of.
Ideally I'd like to get one of those and improve my shot, aswell as doing a bit of pest control.

Anyone know what the score is? I assume getting a 0.22 rimfire would be easy, but how would I go about getting a larger calibre rifle? WHat are the restrictions? I know full/semi automatic are generally out, but have heard 0.22rf blowback is allowed? How do you justify it propperly?

Thanks for any input.

PS. PF wannabe gangsters need not reply, just because this thread is about guns
Old 20-06-2007, 11:43 PM
PhilM
PassionBMW.com Member

Thanks Matt...