Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

Missing under high boost

Search this Thread

Old 26-11-2012, 10:34 PM
BIL N KEL
Advanced PassionFord User

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Missing under high boost

Since standing my saff up for a couple of months it's now started missing when above 1.8bar of boost. I tried a new set of plugs but still no different and its had new leads dizzy cap etc from msd and a grp a coil. I was thinking about going down the coilpack conversion route but I may replace the engine loom first as to eliminate that. Does anybody make new looms? If not I'm sure I read somewhere that you can buy all the connectors for the loom in a kit. I'm a electrician so shouldn't be too hard for me to make one up

Anyone have an idea what I can also check?
Old 27-11-2012, 10:12 AM
Mike1
PassionFord Post Troll

Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts

I believe that a guy called Ryan used to make looms but I don't think he does them anymore. I had a fan and fuel pump loom made up by Prometheus but I don't think he does them anymore.

Motorsport Developments do fuel and fan looms still I believe so they might be able to do an engine one too perhaps?
Old 27-11-2012, 10:30 AM
rog
PassionFord Post Whore!!

Received 67 Likes on 50 Posts

What plug gap are you running, and is the car setup correctly?
I'd also change the fuel filter as well.
Could be a wiring issue, but cossies ran ok for years prior to wasted spark conversions, so it's not a necessity if the car is healthy, however it does improve things.

As for the looms, you can try bespoke looms, there's also another one but i forget the name right now. The connectors you can buy here http://www.polevolt.co.uk/acatalog/J...onnectors.html as that's how they manage to make new looms.