Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

newbie buying adv

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2010, 08:38 PM
mje_wrx
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie buying adv

Hi, im a newbie on here, currently on scoobynet owning a wrx running 320 / 320.

Had few issues and realy want a change. so ive decieded i want a cosworth. i really like the sierra rs cosworth 1987 box light etc and sapphires do take my fancy as a cheaper option.

What adv would you owners give in looking for one. not worried if its standard or modified. How would you describe the power compared to other cars, especially scoobs. as mines pretty quick and would like to be on parr or quicker eventually.

How reliable are they. what are main issues and costs etc.

All help much appreciated

matt
Old 08-09-2010, 09:23 AM
tabetha
20K+ Super Poster.

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

They are very different cars, if thinking cossie rust is the main bug bear, as well as the age of the car and how it's been looked after, usual rust areas such as rear arches, sills, front floor pan, rust between front turret and inner wing.
You will find it very different to the scoob, a good car in it's own right the scoob, but doesn't give the exciting feeling(to me anyway) seems just another nicely sorted jap car when driving, cossie is a lot more rewarding, esp when in tuned 2wd mode, as you need to drive them in the wet or dry if going silly, take a lot more input.
2wd can be run so much cheaper though, and trans take more power.
The std sierra suspension at the rear is abysmal but a new poly diff mount and 22mm arb soon sorts it out mostly.