Concours d'élégance. The section dedicated to those who like things pristione and shiny. Buftys in other words.

DIY alloy wheel refurb

Search this Thread

Old 28-05-2009, 03:58 PM
pani_k
PassionFORD Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY alloy wheel refurb

Hi guys,

Want to refurb all my alloys over the summer and I'm looking for a guide or something but can't seem to find one. Basically I'm assuming I'll need to fully rub down, primer, paint and lacquer. Few things I want to ask though:

1) Should I take the tyres off? I've seen people put newspaper and stuff around but from previosu experience masking tape doesn't hold on tyres.

2) I know it is probably well recommended to use a compressor over rattle cans but will it be a big advantage to do so? Bear in mind I'd have to rent one if I was to do this. Also where do you buy paint and lacquer to put into a compressor?

3) I've never done anything like this before but I also can't afford to pay to get a full set of refurbs! I'm in North London but will still consider getting them refurbed elsewhere if cheap enough or if anyone is willing to refurb them, I'm more than willing to travel, possibly deliver the wheels to you and by all means pay you for your troubles.

P.S. I'm also after someone that can do paintless dent removal as I have a couple that need doing.

Cheers!
Old 28-05-2009, 05:33 PM
bad boy rs
PassionFord Post Whore!!

how much you got to spend mate ? thing is youve obviously got to be confident enough to do the work other wise youll pay out for all the bits and it will end up looking wank.

where you live ? im in watford and my mate does powder coating he charges 30 per wheel if your intrested

thanks paul
Old 28-05-2009, 06:19 PM
joe s
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

Sorry for thread-jacking but does your mate p.c other bits aswell as wheels and if so what sort of price range? Cheers
Old 28-05-2009, 06:36 PM
barnard
Regular Contributor