Restorations, Rebuilds & Projects. Restoring her to Concourse? Just getting her running again? Or got a mad project? This is your room.

Sierra 3dr V8

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2006, 08:59 PM
Da Booga
Regular Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sierra 3dr V8

Had the car for a year now and to be honest lost a bit of the bug but after winter the bug is back!! Managed to make space in my factory so I can work undercover, a lot easier than working on the drive!!

The idea is to basically get the car ready for its MOT on 19th May!! Needs a new gearbox and the engine to be tuned as it runs like a bag of crap!!

Please bear one thing in mind as I keep posting my exploits, i'm an accountant by trade so car mechanics isn't my strong point! The idea with the Sierra is to help me get some hands-on experience with modifying cars. If anyone has any tips, ideas or ways that I could do things better please just add to the topic as i'm open to tutoring LOL. The other thing is that i'm currently also funding the business in the factory and getting married in August so funds are virtually non-existant so i've got to try and do things as cheap as possible until after the wedding at least!!

Piccies of the car as it was on my drive before being taken to the factory

How it looked Saturday morning at the factory

1st Things 1st I needed a work bench and somewhere to store my tools so they were to hand, the identified spot

Workbench knocked up from a bit of spare wood that happened to be lying about the factory

Next, a set of shelves to keep the bench clear of tools

After that I started on the car, I need to spray the front bumper & grill, i've also got a pair of twin lense cossie headlamps on the way so the front end was stripped

My helper watching the precedings

Managed to get the gearbox out on Monday with 2 mates, Baz & Ian, upon opening the gearbox it was found to be empty of oil which probably explained the nasty noises eminating from it when driving!!