Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

1990 Sapphire Cosworth - PAS, alternator, window surround bubbling issues etc

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2009, 03:50 PM
redzuki1
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 Sapphire Cosworth - PAS, alternator, window surround bubbling issues etc

Ladies and Gents,
Firstly: Hello, I’m a newbie “poster” to the forum, but have been a Cossie lover for many years. A couple of problems have arisen recently and I was wondering if anybody could help? I have tried the search option, but the nail was not hit on the head. I have tried to include as much issue detail as possible, so please expect a lengthy post.
I have recently returned a 1990 Ford Sierra Sapphire RS Cosworth 4x4 to the road, only to then take it back off again for winter. I noticed the following:
1. Issue:
Heavy power steering, audible straining at slow speed (maybe due to the lack of wind and tyre noise), slipping belt, dark red/dark brown PAS fluid, PAS reservoir cap always overflows, PAS fluid appears aerated at times.
Notes/problem history/thoughts: