General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Engine mapping courses?

Search this Thread

Old 20-09-2005, 12:14 AM
heeman10
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine mapping courses?

I would really like to know of the best way to "learn" engine mapping. I'm in my final year of a Motor Sports Engineering degree, and really want to include mapping in my skills as an engineer. I just don't know how to go about picking it up at the moment, and would like any input and/or suggestions from people in the know
Old 20-09-2005, 04:03 AM
seveneigths
Advanced PassionFord User

PM stu mate i'm shore he will point you in the right direction

Regards Paul
Old 20-09-2005, 09:04 AM
Versus_Creations
Ask me a question!

Received 28 Likes on 23 Posts

Done many courses mate it makes no difference. The only thing to do is start breaking engines and finding out what its all about.

Set up a bench stand and engine and destroy it then do it over and over again untill you stop destroying it. When you done that well, you are about 5% complete to be able to call yourself a tuner and to be able to map. Been doing it for 3 years now and still wouldnt want to let customers cars go without having them checked by a Pro...

Regards
Old 20-09-2005, 10:28 AM
nor_cossie
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!

This place have some classes
http://www.efi101.com/
Old 20-09-2005, 11:36 AM
JesseT
PassionFord Post Troll

I've mapped a few cars and they are still all fine
It's not rocket science, but it's still better to do the homework first and not just go by trial and error (Jano's method ).
Old 20-09-2005, 12:25 PM
heeman10

seveneigths - Maybe I should. I was thinking he probably gets PM's like this all the time. Ah well, serves him right for making a interwebsite which allows people to send him annoying PMs!