General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Why are there so many unroadworthy cars out there?!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2009, 12:49 PM
Gazzonator
Gary Krishna

Received 66 Likes on 54 Posts
Angry Why are there so many unroadworthy cars out there?!!!

As a few people may know, I work as an AA patrol so come across a lot of cars on the road.

The one thing that really shocks me is how so many cars I come across are totally unroadworthy. I'm not talking about things like number plate lights not working and things like that but cars that are quite literally falling to bits, bald tyres, little or no brakes and bad body damage with sharp edges that could cause injury etc.....

I went out to a Nissan Primera last week for a wheel change, removed the offside front wheel and noticed there was absolutely no material left on the pads and were metal to metal on the discs and had been for some time!

I asked the guy why he hadn't had the brakes sorted as they must have sounded horrendous! 'Why? They still work.' came the reply!

After trying to explain he needs to get them sorted, he said he will sort them when they stop working!! By which time it will probably be to late and would have killed someone! I even offered to recover the car or fit pads and discs for him and still he said no!!! Cunt!

I put the same wheel back on with the fucked, split (and just barely legal) tyre back on and said that I am not helping to put an accident waiting to happen back on the road. What makes this even more chilling is this vehicle was a private hire taxi so is using this to carry innocent people! Wanker!

The majority of us spend money keeping our cars safe and legal so why are there these arseholes who think they don't need to?!!!

Anyone got any similar experiences?
Old 07-09-2009, 01:03 PM
bristol_fez
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts