General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

PC to imac/mac book pro...?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2009, 11:31 AM
Muska
Advanced PassionFord User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question PC to imac/mac book pro...?

Is it worth considering one of these over a pc?

I own my own photography business and currently use a pc for all my editing/design.

all programs are available on both formats so thats not an issue, but ease of use etc, i really like the look of a 24"imac and a macbook pro for on location.

Pro's & cons anyone?

Thanks in advance,
Matt.
Old 07-04-2009, 11:34 AM
Jim Galbally
20K+ Super Poster.

pros:
looks cool
you can use the "i'm a designer so need a mac" line down the pub to all the people who dont know how computers work

cons:
massively OVERpriced
can only do 50% of the things a real computer can

Old 07-04-2009, 11:43 AM
Muska

thanks jim, could you expand on the things it can't do please?

They seem almost industry standard in photographic terms.

thanks in advance,
Matt.
Old 07-04-2009, 11:57 AM
BM08
Professional Waffler

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Im aware of all the pros but i wouldnt buy one simply because of the cost.

You could buy a super fast pc for the price of a mac
Old 07-04-2009, 11:59 AM
Mr S1
Don't ask - I don't know

Received 40 Likes on 36 Posts

I run an Imac and it's far superior to a PC. Everything is so much easier to use, far more logical and far more stable than Windows as an OS will ever be.

Downsides are it does take a little while to get used to, and the price. But well worth the extra additional outlay IMO.
Old 07-04-2009, 12:10 PM
BM08
Professional Waffler

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by Mr S1
I run an Imac and it's far superior to a PC. Everything is so much easier to use, far more logical and far more stable than Windows as an OS will ever be.