General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

any BT phone engineers ?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 02:15 PM
FasterFords
Advanced PassionFord User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question any BT phone engineers ?

Having pulled down an old plasterboard archway in the hall, I've uncovered the surround for the old front door.

Now I have a maze of phone cables, a BT socket near the ceiling that was wall papered over , cable that had a least 2 nails through the middle and a 1950's junction box.

Does anyone know how to remove all this and use the existing twin core cable to a new style point ?

Thanks
Mark

Old 02-02-2009, 02:38 PM
Gman85
Virgin

Hi, yeah i'm a BT engineer. The feed looks like its an old one that comes through the frame and into the back of that old junction box. The box is nothing but an old style connection box. You could replace it with any sort of box from B & Q etc, will be in their telephone and electrical department and will probably have screw terminals inside a white plastic box. Nothing hard to do except joing the 2 sets of individual cables together (not polarity sensitive) and dont worry there is only 50v dc down the line so you can touch it. You are suposed to get a BT engineer to do this work as its like the gas board and you could get a fine if you cause any faults that then needs an engineer out.

Have you moved into the property recently or had the bt phone line just switched on? If so the engineer should have replaced all of that and changed over to new style socket etc. Let me know if you want more info.
Old 02-02-2009, 02:46 PM
FasterFords

thanks for the info.

we moved in about 6 years ago, all of that was covered up with plasterboard and wallpaper, so never knew it was there.
Old 02-02-2009, 02:54 PM
Ryan
15K+ Super Poster!!

gman,

while your hear, i have a question.