General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reputable tuner

Search this Thread

Old 13-10-2008, 06:36 PM
jogi730
I'm Finding My Feet Here Now

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reputable tuner

Something not quite right on my Intake Manifold

http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/j...=IMcockup2.jpg

http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/j...=IMcockup1.jpg

Sorry don't know how to attach photos to include in post
Old 13-10-2008, 06:43 PM
Dangerous Malcolm..
BANNED
BANNED

Old 13-10-2008, 06:45 PM
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!

Received 449 Likes on 397 Posts

Air intake temp sensor?
Old 13-10-2008, 07:01 PM
Micky
Advanced PassionFord User

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Size 9 feet??LOL Regards,Micky
Old 13-10-2008, 07:02 PM
jogi730

Yep
AIT directly inline with water injection.
I'm no mechanic, but I don't think that's a good idea?
Old 13-10-2008, 07:30 PM
jammy86
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Shouldnt the W.I. be upstream of the IAT so that the sensor measures the reduced charge temp with the water added?

JAmes.
Old 13-10-2008, 09:00 PM
jogi730

Think it's the other way around, otherwise after water has been added, the sensor tells the ECU engine is running cold so the ECU adds more fuel. Ultimately this can lead to serious damage of the engine.
Definitely not good from a tuner that is meant to have a good reputation for knowing their stuff.

This is actually the 2nd piece of cr*p they supplied me with, the first having split badly along the welds.
Old 13-10-2008, 09:05 PM
Jim Galbally
20K+ Super Poster.

dont forget tho there will be an air stream going thru there. so it'll actually be upstream of the WI not downstream
Old 13-10-2008, 09:07 PM
ECU Monitor Enthusiast
BANNED
BANNED

The sensor needs to be AFTER the water spray.