General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.
View Poll Results: Should i take the job?
Yes
30.00%
No
70.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Should i take it?

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2008, 05:49 PM
Coldo
PassionFord Post Whore!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should i take it?

Currently working in a 9-5, mon-fri job in the motor trade, earning an alright wage, but nothing major at all. I enjoy the job mostly, but i have a degree in Graphic Design that im not putting to any use at all, which bothers me a bit.

Anyway....

Ive been "head hunted" by a local designers, who have offered me a job, result . However, the job offered is predominantly a sales job, i would be travelling around central and southern Scotland, visiting businesses etc with the aim to create business for the company, from there, i would be responsible for designing the initial product for the customer, OK'ing everything, price, timescale etc etc, then passing the job on to the production guys who would print/launch/do whatever with the design.

Problem arises; The base wage is 3k per year less that what i currently earn, with a commision of 6% on all business i generate for the company from my visits/appointments with local business owners. Which obviously means the potential to earn ALOT more than i do now is there.

I've never done sales, i dunno if i fancy having targets, commision to make before i get a decent wage at the end of the month, coupled with the fact its not as much design orientated as i wanted, but its 100x more design than what i do now!

Should i take it, or should i not?

Last edited by Coldo; 11-06-2008 at 05:51 PM.
Old 11-06-2008, 05:52 PM
bigchez
PassionFord Post Whore!!

6% strikes me as a bit skinny if you are basically developing a whole new customer base for them from scratch.....