General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Setting up my own business!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2007, 07:24 PM
morch
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Setting up my own business!!

For all those people who own thier own company, I just want to know if those company registration websites are all they say they are. I have chosen my company name and it is avaliable, but do i press the buy now button?????
They also advertise the as being Ltd companies, is this what i want if i set up on my own?? Im an Electrician if that makes any difference.
Old 07-03-2007, 07:50 PM
nellyscossy
Too many posts.. I need a life!!

depends how your thinking of setting up
i am a plumber/gas engineer
i didnt bother with any of that i simply notified the tax man that i was self employed and off i went..but i am only a sole trader and plan on staying that way...(to much bollox involved in employing people)
if your thinking of taking on blokes then ltd would be better cause if it goes tits up then you arent held personaly for any money owed to suppliers,wages,etc..
Old 07-03-2007, 08:16 PM
AndyBrew
Advanced PassionFord User

if you are just starting out mate simply go down the sole trader route, and when you have earn't a few quid pay for some professional advice i.e. accountant as everybodies circumstances are different.
Old 08-03-2007, 12:31 AM
neilm
PassionFord Post Whore!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Personally, if I was an electrician, I'd be limited.

Couple of reasons.

If I was a Sole Trader and say I did something that caused a problem and someones house burnt down or worse someone was hurt, then it would be me that would be liable, whereas being limited I'd be protected by the limited company.