Ford Focus (All Models) This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Focus Range that doesnt belong in the seperate ST & RS sections..

Focus Mk1/1.5 corrosion issue....

Search this Thread

Old 29-09-2012, 07:36 PM
Greasenuts
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Focus Mk1/1.5 corrosion issue....

Just thought I'd let you all know about an issue I came across today on my 2002 ST170...

Took it to work this morning, (I'm a mechanic.... supposedly ) to give it a good talking to with a bucket of waxoyl. So I stripped the rear wheel arch liners out and was somewhat surprised and disappointed to find some fairly advanced corrosion. As you probably know, the liner is a funny fabric material which, rather inconveniently holds water and as such spends much of the its life damp. Where the liner is fastened to the inner arch, just above and ahead of the rear "axle", because it's permanently in contact with the metalwork its actually caused some fairly bad corrosion. Luckily for me I was able to get this back to bare metal and protect it properly, however I imagine many other focus' are beyond this. Unfortunately I didn't have time to get any pics so you'll just have to believe me

Why am I telling you all this? I hope some of you focus owners are brave enough to have a look and potentially save yourself loads of hassle in the future when the rot works its way to the rear chassis rails! A word of warning though, only look if you are prepared for the worst!

This might just be a one off but I'm bloody pleased I found it when I did and it didn't go through another winter and get a load worse! Needles to say, a mornings work later all signs of any corrosion were long gone and a couple of cans of waxoyl had been dispensed!!
Old 29-09-2012, 07:40 PM
Greasenuts

A second word of warning, dont get waxoyl in your hair........
Old 29-09-2012, 07:47 PM
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!

Received 449 Likes on 397 Posts