Restorations, Rebuilds & Projects. Restoring her to Concourse? Just getting her running again? Or got a mad project? This is your room.

Magenta Rwd Sapph Restoration

Search this Thread

Old 15-01-2013, 06:18 PM
ajhm
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magenta Rwd Sapph Restoration

Hey guys, i'm AJ and i'm new to the forum. Just bought myself a 1990 rwd sapphire cosworth in need of a bit of TLC to get her back to her former glory. I've never done a restoration before and i'm a bit of a novice but fortunately i've entrusted the help of a good mate who just so happens to be a time served Ford technician and he will be keeping me right ( I hope )!! It will cost me a few beers i'm sure. Ok so here's what I know...

The Car as I said is a 1990 rwd sapphire in Magenta red with 3 previous owners and just under 82k on the clock with a folder full of history and everything would seem to point to it being a genuine example. It has been dry stored for the last 4 years as the previous owner ( a colleague from work ) had the intentions of doing a restoration but hadn't managed to get round to it due to family commitments.
After getting the car home and giving it a closer inspection it was needing a couple of things straight from the word go... a new battery was purchased breathing new life into her and is now starting and stopping with no issues at all. The near side front brake caliper was sticking so we set about freeing it off. As we removed the wheel we were greeted with a broken coil spring aswell so that was another thing onto the shopping list. After getting some air in the tyres I was able to take the car for a short run round the block to ensure everything was in order and am happy to report that it seems nice and lively. On return we found that the power steering pipe was leaking right at the bend which i'm told is relatively common so another add to the list.

Here are some pics i took after I gave it a much needed wash!

Old 15-01-2013, 06:25 PM