Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

Sierra Cosworth Help please

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2011, 01:05 PM
biker1981
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sierra Cosworth Help please

Hi, newbie here.

I just wanted to post a question behalf of an my elderly Neightbour who has a 1987 Sierra Cosworth.

I help him out from time to time, hr has owned his cosworth for the past 20 years, and he is having a few issues with the ABS light coming on.

He has taken it to both a mechanic and an auto electrician to test the sensors etc, and they say there fine.

I just wondered if anyone has any suggestions please? he has told me that he doesnt think the ABS is working at all now? he can hear the ABS pump working on start up.

It needs an MOT and he does very little miles, he was going to pull the fuse out, but cant find the auxilary fuse box. The manual says it should be in the passenger footwell, but cant see out, there is something in the driversfootwell with some yellow relays etc... but cant really get to it.

Any help appreciated.
Old 09-07-2011, 01:14 PM
Mark 3D

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

your elderly neighbour has a 3 door Cossie!!!! lol

just how elderly is he!!?
Old 09-07-2011, 01:17 PM
biker1981
Virgin

Originally Posted by markyd3
your elderly neighbour has a 3 door Cossie!!!! lol

just how elderly is he!!?

Ha ha he must be mid 60's, he also has a mint 205 gti, and volvo T5... and a few motorbikes... I want to be just like him when i'm older

Think he having difficulties with it as alot of the local garages arnt really up on them... neither am I really.. but it sure is pretty
Old 09-07-2011, 01:26 PM
leebilly
Virgin

Thumbs up ABS

Hi
Im a newbie too but have had a cossie for 8 years. If pump runs but light is on can be as simple as not quite enough fluid in reservoir, try shorting out the two pin plug on reservoir cap and see if that buts light out.