Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

Mondeo TDCI injection question!

Search this Thread

Old 21-04-2012, 07:09 PM
smiley111
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mondeo TDCI injection question!

Hi I'm new to this forun but from what I've seen on here everyone seems very helpful and knowledgeable so I'm hoping I may be able to make some progress in getting my 2004 mondeo tdci running!

Problems started suddenly one morning when the car would only start and run at some 500 rpm and extremely rough, Initially the injectors were removed ready to be sent for testing, However then my mechanic noticed the Inlet camshaft holding bolts had seemed to of come loose, we tightened the bolts and tried to start the car, absolutely nothing, not even 5oo rpm as before. lifted the cover again to find the inlet cam had come loose again. After trawling the net i realised the inlet cam had jumped on the timing chain. hence i decided to buy another bare engine. (id heard it running so knew it was ok)

New engine fitted doesn't start ( will run when easy start sprayed continuously down the inlet) I used all the injectors, fuel pump, sensors, etc from the old engine. Diagnostics are not showing any codes so I'm a bit stuck! also no warning lights on dash.

My mind now is wondering why the old engine didin't run after the cam was tightened (all be it it would of been exceptionally rough as before but it didn't run at all) I wonder if whatever else has gone wrong went wrong at that point? Rather than being anything related to the new engine. I'm told the injectors went back in the pots they came out of. Can taking injectors out and putting them back in create any problems?