Mk2 Focus RS gearbox to Zetec engine? - PassionFord - Ford Focus, Escort & RS Forum Discussion

Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

Mk2 Focus RS gearbox to Zetec engine?

Reply

 
 
 
Old 28-06-2014, 01:15 PM
  #1  
Jackstrath
I'm Finding My Feet Here Now
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 126
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Mk2 Focus RS gearbox to Zetec engine?

Hello guys , i think this could be my first topic , although iv been on here for a few years now i just normaly have a lookie at this and that.

Im after some info , what can , who can and best way to do what im thinking , dont like the cant words lol

Long story short , i have a high powered mk1 focus RS track car , only issue just now is gearbox's , i cant seam to get the MTX75 to last any great deal of time.

Now its down to torque , that seams to be the issue , the standard box was rebuilt , lasted 700 miles , quaife box was built , didnt even last a fraction of it.

From what i found , standard box killed bearings really fast (i guess due to the horozontal and rotational forces placed on the bearings)

Quaife dog box , a design flaw on 3rd gear - one which aparently isnt going to change


So as another option iv been looking about to see whats stong as i know works , and it turns out mk2 RS focus's gearboxs seam to be fairly bomb proof with very little reports of failures , and the big powered cars run big torque figues due to them having that 5th cylinder haha


Now external size wise they arnt much bigger , which isnt to bad considering they are a 6 speed aswell (but then we did have the 6 speed in the st170 that fitted no bother)

The lists of parts that arnt a issue:
Driveshafts
Rear dogbone mount
Top engine mount
Gear Cables

The main issue is bell housing, for three reasons ;
1. starter motor is on the other side of the box (on a mk1 its on the rear, mk2 its on the front)
2.Bell hosing shape (this i guess is issue 2 and 3) bolt pattern is wrong
3.Diff
Iv yet to get a messurement , but number 3 might not be a "big" issue , IE if the center of the diff to the center of the imput shaft isnt miles out then it could work

I could be wrong , but i dont think the bellshousing can be sorted with just a bolt adaptor plate like you can on a RWD set up

If it could be them it would just be the starter motor issue and it could work

Iv yet to think if a mk2 RS starter motor woud fit down the front between the turbo/manifold set up (although i highly doubt it would)


Has anyone got any info or ideas , or knows someone that has done this or was atleast thinking about doing it , or would be up for trying to get it to work ?


at a wits end tbh , and this is one last attempt to relight the love with my car ! (currently up for sale)


Thanks in advance !
Jackstrath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2018, 08:56 PM
  #2  
costina
Live long and prosper!!
iTrader: (1)
 
costina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: area 51
Posts: 9,126
Thanked 366 Times in 341 Posts
Default

It would be nice if I could see your other thread.

Hopefully it will be sorted soon.
costina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2018, 09:02 PM
  #3  
Jackstrath
I'm Finding My Feet Here Now
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 126
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yeh I think 10 years of photos on the first page has killed the topic ! Iv asked for it to be deleted and il have to go back to the drawing board on what I’m gonna put in the first page
Jackstrath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2018, 09:33 PM
  #4  
costina
Live long and prosper!!
iTrader: (1)
 
costina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: area 51
Posts: 9,126
Thanked 366 Times in 341 Posts
Default

Just start another thread and the mods will get around to deleting the old thread.
costina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2018, 10:15 PM
  #5  
smiley
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: england
Posts: 2,104
Thanked 207 Times in 190 Posts
Default

Try contacting Norris motorsport they do the mk2 box conv on s2's maybe they can help
smiley is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to smiley For This Useful Post:
Jackstrath (20-08-2018)
Old 20-08-2018, 10:22 PM
  #6  
Jackstrath
I'm Finding My Feet Here Now
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 126
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by costina View Post
Just start another thread and the mods will get around to deleting the old thread.
should be it now!
Jackstrath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2018, 08:44 AM
  #7  
slammedorion
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
slammedorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,555
Thanked 167 Times in 156 Posts
Default

I’m interested in this conversion...
Ive messaged nms and had no replies yet
Id love this conversion on the Orion
slammedorion is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2018, 09:18 AM
  #8  
costina
Live long and prosper!!
iTrader: (1)
 
costina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: area 51
Posts: 9,126
Thanked 366 Times in 341 Posts
Default

Got to ask why wasn't the getrag 6 speed never used on the RS ?
I know all the dual mass is a pain etc can it not handle power very well?
costina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2018, 10:29 AM
  #9  
colins2
Part of the Furniture
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 188
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I was always led to believe the 6speed form the ST170 could not handle the torque.
colins2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2018, 08:22 PM
  #10  
Jackstrath
I'm Finding My Feet Here Now
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 126
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Ratios are all wrong tbh, you’d be forever changing gear
Jackstrath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2018, 09:55 PM
  #11  
costina
Live long and prosper!!
iTrader: (1)
 
costina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: area 51
Posts: 9,126
Thanked 366 Times in 341 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jackstrath View Post
Ratios are all wrong tbh, you’d be forever changing gear
What about changing the ratios that box? With a lsd would it handle the torque?
seen on focusfantics a guy is running 350lbft on a 6speed with no issues so far and thinks with a lsd 400 would be ok.
unless your running more than that......?
imo it would be a cheap option just to have a play with a getrag and see if it lasts.

Last edited by costina; 21-08-2018 at 10:05 PM.
costina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2018, 03:43 PM
  #12  
bassboy
PassionFord Post Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,328
Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by slammedorion View Post
I’m interested in this conversion...
Ive messaged nms and had no replies yet
Id love this conversion on the Orion
Let us know if you hear anything Something I would be interested in doing the conversion too
bassboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2018, 05:30 PM
  #13  
slammedorion
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
slammedorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,555
Thanked 167 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bassboy View Post
Let us know if you hear anything Something I would be interested in doing the conversion too

Will do
slammedorion is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JoeyBoyden
Restorations, Rebuilds & Projects.
25
14-02-2016 11:30 AM
coozer
Ford Focus
0
15-08-2015 11:26 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Mk2 Focus RS gearbox to Zetec engine?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.