Motorcycle Chat & Sales We do fast cars and fast bikes. Keep the bike chat and adverts in here please folks!

bike test advice please *theory now booked*

Search this Thread

Old 21-08-2010, 02:12 PM
Mark_
PassionFord Post Whore!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default bike test advice please *theory now booked*

been thinking of doing my bike test alot recently,
after seeing billybigspuds threads on bikes and the fact that a decent 600 can be had for good money in more intrested than ever.

how easy is the bike test?
i only ever used mopeds in the past so i have no bike experience at all.

how many lessons do people normaly have to have before a test?

Last edited by Mark_; 13-09-2010 at 05:57 PM.
Old 21-08-2010, 02:42 PM
Lambchop
PF Idiot Sniper

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Hi mate
Firstly did you get my pm?

I did my bike test in 2003 from being a complete novice. NEVER ridden before. CBT is one day on a 125. Can't really fail that!

I think i only had 5-6 hours on the bike before my test and that was enough. If you're already a driver you should have good road awareness then it's a case of transferring those skills to a bike. Observation is the key!

Cant comment on how difficult new test is but surely with half a brain it's fine. The theory is easy enough and mostly common sense.

Biking is cool!
Old 21-08-2010, 04:47 PM
jamie's
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts

just going thru my own bike test stuff just now,
done my cbt 6 weeks ago, its a full day affair now(used to only be a few hours), morning in yard learning how the bike works and getting your balance sorted etc,
then afternoon out on the road for 2 hr assessment, much harder than it used to be, but no prob if your remotely competant,
theory 2 weeks ago, thats a doddle, but it does include some questions on safety and 1st aid now that caught me out, still passed so no probs there,