General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Mondeo using too much oil?

Old 10-06-2019, 06:48 PM
  #1  
jdsjojo
I'm Finding My Feet Here Now
Thread Starter
 
jdsjojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Stockport
Posts: 103
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Mondeo using too much oil?

Hi everyone my daily driver, a mk4 mondeo, uses rather a lot of oil. It has done since ive owned it. It is a 2.0 petrol with 65k miles, it's not really bothered me as I check it religously and top up as required.

But i really would like understand why. After a quick Google the top answer seems to be a blocked breather?

Anyone else have an idea? Or have experienced similar?

CheeRS
jdsjojo is offline  
Old 11-06-2019, 02:08 PM
  #2  
Glenn_
Glennvestite
iTrader: (1)
 
Glenn_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Darlington county durham
Posts: 61,595
Received 872 Likes on 842 Posts
Default

I've heard the 2ltr duratec petrol engines do use oil.
Glenn_ is offline  
Old 12-06-2019, 10:55 AM
  #3  
gcfcos
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
gcfcos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of England
Posts: 6,448
Likes: 0
Received 498 Likes on 461 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Glenn_
I've heard the 2ltr duratec petrol engines do use oil.
Yeah mine did use a lot and was low mileage
gcfcos is offline  
Old 12-06-2019, 12:53 PM
  #4  
big_wasa
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Linc's
Posts: 826
Received 87 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

My 2.0 Duratec never used a drop.
big_wasa is offline  
Old 12-06-2019, 01:27 PM
  #5  
3i Jim
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 1,349
Received 115 Likes on 91 Posts
Default

I had mk4 2.0 petrol and it used oil. Smoked like fuck once then cleared. Probably blocked breather.
3i Jim is offline  
Old 13-06-2019, 05:30 AM
  #6  
A9TUE
Moderator

iTrader: (11)
 
A9TUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: INSIDE M25
Posts: 31,999
Received 773 Likes on 619 Posts
Default

must be burning it if not leaking, on all the 2.0 duratecs I have had over the years none lost any oil
A9TUE is offline  
Old 13-06-2019, 05:55 PM
  #7  
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
iTrader: (2)
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 18,661
Received 422 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

I had a mk3 mondeo 2.0 duratec probably 15 years ago now, I remember that using a little bit of oil. I had to top it up every couple of thousand miles but it never got any worse and there was no visible smoke so I didnt bother investigating it.
RichieST is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
stu21t
General Car Related Discussion.
7
06-02-2012 11:29 PM
Stu @ M Developments
Fitness / Weight Training Discussions
36
21-02-2006 11:54 AM
richard_xr2i1800
Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth
18
29-10-2005 04:32 PM
rsbigstogger
Technical help Q & A
4
16-01-2005 11:00 PM
RWD_cossie_wil
General Car Related Discussion.
12
12-10-2004 01:22 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Mondeo using too much oil?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.