General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Water Injection - my mind is a sponge

Search this Thread

Old 22-12-2009, 04:05 PM
Char1ie
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Water Injection - my mind is a sponge

As per the thread title, I know nothing about water injection but have been speaking to knowledgable people about fitting it to my 2WD Sapph race car which runs a restrictor. As I understand it the ECU will inject water into the plenum as a mist when the air in the plenum reaches a certain temperature. Water cooling reduces the air temp allowing for more power and reduces EGTs.

Clearly I'm a novice but I think I have the basics. Now I have to work out what sort of system I need and the likely cost - if it's too high I won't bother.

Has anyone fitted water injection to their Cossie and if so, what system did you use, or was it custom built. Just the list of options at the ERL site is overwhelming: http://www.aquamist.co.uk/sl/plist/frm-4.html

And what sort of cost are we talking for the bits?

Thanks all,

Charlie
Old 22-12-2009, 04:15 PM
pacwest
Puller of the Wrench

I used it for years. I went through a lot of water...

I had a home made setup of a high pressure pump, a pressure switch that came on at 1 bar and was injected by a fuel injector.

I had very good results with this I felt. My injector was the same flow as my fuel injectors and I was quite sure my water pressure was 2.5 bar above inlet pressure. My water tank was pressurized by the inlet pressure with a one way valve.

I would certainly recommend you map the water injection. Play with flow and pressure.