Focus coolant temp sensor--Where is it?????? - PassionFord - Ford Focus, Escort & RS Forum Discussion



General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Focus coolant temp sensor--Where is it??????

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-05-2008, 06:50 PM   #1
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,807
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Focus coolant temp sensor--Where is it??????

On a W reg 2000 1.6 Zetec black top

Where is the coolant temp sensor guys? Its the same thermostat housing as the silvertop but without the top tapped for the coolant temp sensor, so where is it? Is it inside the housing?

If you want to replace it do you have to replace the whole housing? And if so where are the wires/how are they located?

The fans are NEVER cutting in and temp gauge won't EVER go higher than exactly halfway so I think its this

Cheers
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 08:44 PM   #2
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
iTrader: (2)
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 18,156
Thanked 341 Times in 296 Posts
Default

pretty sure its between 2nd and 3rd plug, or this could be the case with the 1.8/2.0.

Does it have a/c? If so, put that on and the fans should cut in, at least you know they work. My focus 1.6 gauge never ever budged from half way either, and the fan would only cut in on the hottest of days being sat in traffic. Dont worry about it unless the gauge creeps past half way.
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 08:52 PM   #3
sebspring
Winker
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

as he says. it si measured on teh back of the head or something like this.

put the a/c switch on or put the direction fan to windscreen with fans on and that switches it on as well
sebspring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 09:01 PM   #4
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
iTrader: (2)
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 18,156
Thanked 341 Times in 296 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebspring View Post
put the direction fan to windscreen with fans on and that switches it on as well
only the post-facelift focus's will do this
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 10:04 PM   #5
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,807
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jungleistmassiv View Post
pretty sure its between 2nd and 3rd plug, or this could be the case with the 1.8/2.0.

Does it have a/c? If so, put that on and the fans should cut in, at least you know they work. My focus 1.6 gauge never ever budged from half way either, and the fan would only cut in on the hottest of days being sat in traffic. Dont worry about it unless the gauge creeps past half way.
Well it was boiling over and the gauge still only read halfway which has led me to this conclusion!

Its a very early (W) Focus, 1.6; so is it on the back of the head then?
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2008, 12:18 AM   #6
cjwood555
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Solihull
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah as above it's a Cylinder Head Temperature Sensor rather than coolant temp sensor....
the guage is driven over the CAN bus / SCP link and only is programmed to stay in the middle once up to temperature unless the temp varies dangerously. This was apparently because there was a large number of complaints of 'high running temperatures' in foci, despite the lack of a scale on the guage!

Ok so that probably doesn't help, but a failed CHT would probably result in rough running when cold. Have you checked fuses and relays? Also worth testing the fan itself directly off the battery....

Chris
cjwood555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2008, 05:07 PM   #7
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
iTrader: (2)
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 18,156
Thanked 341 Times in 296 Posts
Default

I'd firstly get the thermostat and expansion tank cap changed. Does it boil over all the time, or just when its sat idling?
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2008, 05:23 PM   #8
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,807
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Just when idling, as obviously when moving there is air going through the rad

I think stat is fine as once warm I felt the pipe and water was going through
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 01:08 PM   #9
Zetecfiesta
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Westhoughton Bolton
Posts: 4,186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did anybody find the location of the coolent head temp sensor as im looking for it now and cant find it!
Zetecfiesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 07:55 PM   #10
cjwood555
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Solihull
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

as above, it's a head temperature sensor, not a coolant temp sensor - it's between spark plugs 2 and 3....
cjwood555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2009, 03:57 PM   #11
mark.evs
newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

first i'd like to say hi as im new to your site, looks great and will probily be on here a bit.

I'm searching for this invisable sensor too, Its for an 1800 black top zetec 1998. its not between plugs 2 and 3 in the cam cover and not in the stat housing. it's been on diagnostic maching and it found a fault with the 'engine management cooling temp switch'. any ideas? it's not under the cam cover is it? many thanks.
mark.evs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2009, 04:16 PM   #12
Csm
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltic Place
Posts: 5,935
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Under the cam cover matey
Csm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2009, 04:19 PM   #13
mark.evs
newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers, the haynes book showed it being in the cover. it's been driving me nuts for weeks. Thanks again.
mark.evs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2009, 11:45 AM   #14
mark.evs
newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it's not under the cover either. any other ideas?
mark.evs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2012, 03:59 PM   #15
richard21172
Virgin
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Devon
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did the original problem get fixed ? i have the same issue on a Y reg focus
richard21172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2012, 06:47 PM   #16
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,807
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

As far as I know, changing the thermostat fixed the problem!
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2017, 12:34 PM   #17
Glacken52
Virgin
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Frederick
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Coolant sensor location

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark.evs View Post
it's not under the cover either. any other ideas?
the sensor is on the side of the head underneath the intake manifold so u have to take off the manifold to get to it unless your intake is in the front u might be able to get beside it and squeeze your way to the sensor
Glacken52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2017, 12:42 PM   #18
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
iTrader: (2)
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 18,156
Thanked 341 Times in 296 Posts
Default

I'd say after 5 and a bit years he probably isn't still under the bonnet looking for it....
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2017, 12:46 PM   #19
t230
Regular Contributor
 
t230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in my garage
Posts: 286
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

sure it aint fastlife91?
t230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2017, 02:42 AM   #20
GVK.
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
GVK.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 3,894
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Lol, some zetecs had the CHT sensor in the back of the head, behind the alternator.

Old thread but someone may find it useful
GVK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2017, 08:26 AM   #21
Glenn_
Glennvestite
iTrader: (1)
 
Glenn_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Darlington county durham
Posts: 60,309
Thanked 768 Times in 743 Posts
Default

Was the sensor in the head near the spark plugs for the temp gauge??
Glenn_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2017, 11:04 PM   #22
GVK.
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
GVK.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 3,894
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Was on the smaller zetec se Glenn.
GVK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:29 PM   #23
Prefect57
Virgin
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ixworth
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi All
As a newbie I have a duretec ST engine in my 2002 and Im interested to know were all the sensors are as the temp gauge hardly moves of the stop when running but hits half way mark when standing , went to ford dealer today not much help Haynes manual not much better.

I can see a sensor on the thermostat housing and a knocking sensor on the back of the block which has same colour wiring at the sensor on the housing .

Bought new thermostat housing which when I opened didn't have the hole for the sensor but was the right one from the supplier with the details I gave him from the reg.

Can any one advise and give some help on this one as Im going on a road trip across Europe end of the month
Appreciate it
many thanks
Prefect57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:30 PM   #24
Prefect57
Virgin
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ixworth
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Virgin

a Virgin at 61 years old hmmm
Prefect57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 06:52 PM   #25
big_wasa
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Linc's
Posts: 530
Thanked 62 Times in 60 Posts
Default

If this is an st170 The rocker cover may say Duratec, but it isn’t. It’s a posh Zetec.


The dash doesn’t have any sensors. All the info is sent to the dash from the ecu via a coms network ie M bus and can bus.

The little oil temp and pressure pod is also driven by ecu and the info is a total fabrication.

Unless you find a good used stat housing they are all coming blank now. But the boss should be there so you can drill it out for the push fit sensor.
big_wasa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to big_wasa For This Useful Post:
Prefect57 (10-01-2018)
Old 10-01-2018, 07:47 PM   #26
Prefect57
Virgin
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ixworth
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by big_wasa View Post
If this is an st170 The rocker cover may say Duratec, but it isn’t. It’s a posh Zetec.


The dash doesn’t have any sensors. All the info is sent to the dash from the ecu via a coms network ie M bus and can bus.

The little oil temp and pressure pod is also driven by ecu and the info is a total fabrication.

Unless you find a good used stat housing they are all coming blank now. But the boss should be there so you can drill it out for the push fit sensor.
Thank you for the feed back much appreciated
Prefect57 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintenance For a Beginner Botts General Car Related Discussion. 5 22-09-2015 03:04 PM
Help Required - YB not start due to injectors not firing DixieTheKid Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth 10 14-09-2015 11:25 PM
Focus 1.8 LX Annoying Unsettled Idle natehall Ford Focus 5 08-09-2015 06:13 AM
cosworth radiator staying cold!!!! wheelwizardrefurbs Technical help Q & A 2 05-09-2015 11:52 AM
A nice quick one for someone who knows Ben26 Technical help Q & A 5 03-09-2015 08:55 PM


Tags
01, 20, 2000, 2004, coolant, fiesta, focus, ford, location, locations, replace, rs2000, sensor, temp, temperature, water

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.