Garage / Workshop & Tools Section. Given working on your pride and joy is often one of the reasons cited for owning a Ford, post all your garage and tool collection pictures and questions in here.

US pro tool chest Vs snap on.

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2014, 10:51 AM
Trist
Advanced PassionFord User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default US pro tool chest Vs snap on.

Looking at new tool chest and snap on prices are about £2500
Looking around eBay do a us pro stainless steel chest for £750.
Has any one got a us pro. And what are they like against a snap on.
Old 12-01-2014, 11:33 AM
Dave-Rs
Wahay!! I've lost my Virginity!!

what do you use your tools for hobby or is it your job? I have a snap on box and love it but im a full time mechanic so I could justify the price but if I was just using it for at home working on my own car id get the uspro. A couple of people where I work have us pro boxes and they seem good they have ball bearing sliders and are miles better than teng, halfords, sealy boxes in my opinion.
Old 12-01-2014, 11:45 AM
Trist

I'm a marine engineer and would replace the 4 smaller chests I have.
As you do start with small and add on to it but IV always put off the lager one
Old 12-01-2014, 11:55 AM
Dave-Rs

well if its for work then id go for the snap on as it will last a lifetime and if you want to upgrade it in the future most snap on dealers do very good trade in deals. I got my employer to buy my box for me through the company as he can reclaim the vat and he just took 50 out of my wages every week until it was paid off, it made it alot easier than paying a lump sum and you save paying vat, you could try that with your employer maby?
Old 12-01-2014, 12:00 PM
ajamesc
cossie fan (unluckerly)

Received 435 Likes on 393 Posts

Snap on one looks better in the tool box car park lol
If the cheaper one has roller bearings on the draws and a good lock system I'd save your self a load of money I'm more into what's in my tool box than the tool box