Ford Focus Diesel This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Focus Diesel Range.

2003 focus TDCI pulling my hair out problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2013, 03:14 PM
steve24rdg
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 focus TDCI pulling my hair out problem

Hi there, I hope (if you dont mind) somebody here can give me some guidance in troubleshooting the most bizarre problem I have ever come across with a car.
I am a senior technician for a heavy equipment, so I do know my way around common rail injection systems.
It is a 2003 Ford Focus 1.8 TDCI, I pulled the engine out for complete rebuild after a small end failure. The turbo was rebuilt with a new cassette, the injectors were stripped, cleaned in an ultrasonic cleaner and re assembled following guidelines from Delphi.
The engine went back in and was running fine in my workshop throughout the whole rev range.
Took the car for a run around the block all was well until I pulled back into my workshop and it stalled. Then it would re start, run for maybe 5 seconds (sometimes a bit more) then cut out again, same thing over and over with it becoming more difficult to re start. once started if you rev the engine it will run for as long as you keep the revs up, it is a bit rough though. (no MIL light flashes at any time)
I thought that it must be a fuel pressure or injector problem, so I put it on the IDS and it shows that fuel pressure is fine. during crank I had well over 150 bar, at idle, if I remember, was ell over 250.
disconnecting the injectors and the fuel fuel modulating valve on the pump showed that the pressures are all good. the crank test showed pressure rises from 250 bar to 1500 in 5 seconds. at stop cranking dropping off to about 500 over the next 5 seconds. IDS says these results are good.
Injector leak off test shows that all injectors are within limits.
I re did all of the above tests using a separate fuel source held above the engine, with the same results..