Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

How to test your EFI fuel system performance

Old 28-06-2015, 03:46 PM
matthart
Regular Contributor

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default How to test your EFI fuel system performance

Disclaimer: I'm not a mechanic or a professional automotive engineer. I've done a lot of reading, especially the articles by STU @ MSD that are in Fast Ford.
I'm also sort of Stu approved about this topic: https://passionford.com/forum/5480334-post17.html
But of course, anything you do to your own car is your own fault, I'm just trying to be helpful.

STU's Tech articles: http://www.motorsport-developments.co.uk/stus.html

Relevant fuel pressure article: http://www.motorsport-developments.c...AF242.tech.pdf

EFI fuel systems like the XR2i, Fiesta RS Turbo etc rely on the fuel system being able to maintain the pressure DIFFERENCE between each end of the injector.

Most injectors (certainly the Ford ones I've used) expect a 3 BAR DIFFERENCE. Therefore, when you hit 1 BAR of boost, the fuel pressure regulator will try to hold the fuel pressure at 4 BAR.
An example:
Inlet side of injector is at 1 BAR (you're in boost)
The expected pressure DIFFERENCE across the injector is 3 BAR
Fuel rail side of the injector needs to be at 4 BAR

In an N/A engine, the inlet side is always a vacuum and never goes positive, so an example when you stamp on the throttle:
Inlet side of the injector is at -1BAR (yes MINUS)
The expected pressure DIFFERENCE across the injector is 3 BAR
Fuel rail side of the injector needs to be at 2 BAR.

This is where people (including me) get into trouble when they turbo their car, it's been running fine as an N/A but you're suddenly demanding a lot of a 20 year old pump/wiring/pipework.