PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Tuning, FAQ & Post Archive's. > Technical help Q & A
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

Welcome to Passion Ford!
Welcome to Passion Ford.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Passion Ford today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
highlander1972
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Focus Mk1 airbag ecu

The dreaded new MOT rules are going to affect me later this year so planning ahead. Its MOT'd till Sept 2012.

I've a 1999 V reg Mk1 Focus 1.8 Zetec, the airbag light is always on. All wiring under seat has been checked and was hooked up to a diagnostics machine and came back with airbag ecu fault. The mechanic said a new ecu would be £300 + and for a car worth £700 it wasn't viable.

Now its all change...... I've seen secondhand ecu's for sale for mk1 Focus's from scrapped vehicles and would like to know if its a straight replacement or do they need to be coded/programmed???

The car is a great runner and I can't afford to get a replacement at the moment.

Any help/advice greatfully appreciated.
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
highlander1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 06:49 PM   #2
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 16,070
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Send a message via MSN to RichieST
Default

As far as I'm aware they're the same, just make sure if you've got seat side airbags etc then you get one with this feature.
__________________
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 07:09 PM   #3
GVK.
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
GVK.'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 3,835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
https://twitter.com/gvk_biskit
Default

New modules are blank and need to be programmed.

Guess in theory you could fit the same part number module with the same airbag options.

Never tried it though.

Do you know if the fault was B1342? (flash code 1 2 )

http://www.fordwiki.co.uk/index.php?...flash_code:_12
__________________
Shocking use of apostrophes on here.
Da rulez on apostrophes

Last edited by GVK.; 15-02-2012 at 07:19 PM..
GVK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 08:25 PM   #4
highlander1972
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I didn't get to know the reason code... having looked on ebay the replacement modules start at £10 - does anyone know where the airbag ecu is located in the car? My thoughts are under one of the front seats so will check in the morning. There seems to be a lot of different part numbers for mk1 so best extract the original to get the like for like replacement. It's worth a shot..... will post how I get on.
highlander1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 10:58 PM   #5
GVK.
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
GVK.'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 3,835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
https://twitter.com/gvk_biskit
Default

It's under the centre console, unscew gear knob, pull the hand brake up, take out the two cup holder rubber bases in front of gear lever and rear ashtray, remove 3 x screws, pull up the centre console over hand brake and remove.

Officially, should advise you disconnect the battery for 15 mins to discharge capacitors in the airbag module before disconnecting/reconnecting the module, whatever you do make sure ignition is NOT on!! Heard about someone setting a BMW E46 cabriolet airbags/sidecurtains everything off once when changing a module!

Make sure you bolt it down and add any earth connections (if fitted) before you turn ignition on.

Yes, match up part number from the label on the module. On this pic

Click the image to open in full size.

Can see part number starts YS4T,
__________________
Shocking use of apostrophes on here.
Da rulez on apostrophes

Last edited by GVK.; 15-02-2012 at 11:10 PM..
GVK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 10:58 PM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
10, airbag, airbaglight, computer, control, dianostics, e46, focus, ford, light, location, mk1, module, time, unit, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.