PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Tuning, FAQ & Post Archive's. > Technical help Q & A
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos KBase Gold & Trader Accounts FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read GarageVendors
Search
Welcome to PassionFord

Technical help Q & A Got A technical problem with you car? Keep it in here where the techies hang out and we will try to solve it for you!!

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2012, 05:41 PM   #1
highlander1972
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
highlander1972 is on a distinguished road
Default Focus Mk1 airbag ecu

The dreaded new MOT rules are going to affect me later this year so planning ahead. Its MOT'd till Sept 2012.

I've a 1999 V reg Mk1 Focus 1.8 Zetec, the airbag light is always on. All wiring under seat has been checked and was hooked up to a diagnostics machine and came back with airbag ecu fault. The mechanic said a new ecu would be £300 + and for a car worth £700 it wasn't viable.

Now its all change...... I've seen secondhand ecu's for sale for mk1 Focus's from scrapped vehicles and would like to know if its a straight replacement or do they need to be coded/programmed???

The car is a great runner and I can't afford to get a replacement at the moment.

Any help/advice greatfully appreciated.
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
highlander1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 05:49 PM   #2
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 15,408
Rep Power: 26
RichieST will become famous soon enoughRichieST will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to RichieST
Default

As far as I'm aware they're the same, just make sure if you've got seat side airbags etc then you get one with this feature.
__________________
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 06:09 PM   #3
GVK.
PassionFord Post Troll
 
GVK.'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 3,453
Rep Power: 13
GVK. will become famous soon enoughGVK. will become famous soon enough
Default

New modules are blank and need to be programmed.

Guess in theory you could fit the same part number module with the same airbag options.

Never tried it though.

Do you know if the fault was B1342? (flash code 1 2 )

http://www.fordwiki.co.uk/index.php?...flash_code:_12
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldford View Post
If it is in the garage for 5 continuous week, then it's in the wrong garage.
Or everybody in that garage is sick, disabled or on holiday.

Last edited by GVK.; 15-02-2012 at 06:19 PM.
GVK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 07:25 PM   #4
highlander1972
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 4
Rep Power: 0
highlander1972 is on a distinguished road
Default

I didn't get to know the reason code... having looked on ebay the replacement modules start at £10 - does anyone know where the airbag ecu is located in the car? My thoughts are under one of the front seats so will check in the morning. There seems to be a lot of different part numbers for mk1 so best extract the original to get the like for like replacement. It's worth a shot..... will post how I get on.
highlander1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 09:58 PM   #5
GVK.
PassionFord Post Troll
 
GVK.'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lincs.
Posts: 3,453
Rep Power: 13
GVK. will become famous soon enoughGVK. will become famous soon enough
Default

It's under the centre console, unscew gear knob, pull the hand brake up, take out the two cup holder rubber bases in front of gear lever and rear ashtray, remove 3 x screws, pull up the centre console over hand brake and remove.

Officially, should advise you disconnect the battery for 15 mins to discharge capacitors in the airbag module before disconnecting/reconnecting the module, whatever you do make sure ignition is NOT on!! Heard about someone setting a BMW E46 cabriolet airbags/sidecurtains everything off once when changing a module!

Make sure you bolt it down and add any earth connections (if fitted) before you turn ignition on.

Yes, match up part number from the label on the module. On this pic

Click the image to open in full size.

Can see part number starts YS4T,
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldford View Post
If it is in the garage for 5 continuous week, then it's in the wrong garage.
Or everybody in that garage is sick, disabled or on holiday.

Last edited by GVK.; 15-02-2012 at 10:10 PM.
GVK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2012, 09:58 PM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2