General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.

Mondeo 1.8 MK3 2005 Problems

Old 26-01-2015, 06:50 PM
Philss_99
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mondeo 1.8 MK3 2005 Problems

Evening. Newbie here ( 1st post ) and in need of some help.

Been a Renault owner for the last 10 years but after a Cambelt failure I have decided no more money is going to be spent on it.

So I bought myself a Mondeo 1.8 MK3 2005, A car I have always liked and was within my budget.

Anyway picked car up on Saturday and having nothing but problems. Getting grief of the Wife saying I have bought a bad one. I am not going to be beat by this car so in need of some help / advice Please.

Faults found are as follows :-

Lights - Passenger side head lights, No side light and Dip beam. Main beam fine, Indicators fine. Changed bulbs - still not working. Checked fuses - everything looks in order - still no lights. ( Earth ? )

Cutting out - When dropping gears or slowing down to nearly a stop, car cuts out. ( IACV ? )

Engine Idle - Noticed car revs increase on their own.

Once I get these bits sorted I'm going to book a full service.

Also ... silly question as i'm a little confused. Are IACV & ISCV the same thing or different units ? I'm thinking these are the cause of the problems for the idling & cutting out..

Any advise / help is more than welcome.

Cheers
Old 26-01-2015, 07:53 PM
Oranoco
Professional Waffler

Received 41 Likes on 38 Posts

Evening, welcome aboard the good ship Pf

Been a Renault owner for the last 10 years but after a Cambelt failure I have decided no more money is going to be spent on it.
We all have some dark secrets in our closets.

So I bought myself a Mondeo 1.8 MK3 2005, A car I have always liked and was within my budget.
Picked a Mk 3 Mondeo LX this week myself