PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Main area > General Car Related Discussion.
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.
Sponsored by Cartown
Click Here

Welcome to Passion Ford!
Welcome to Passion Ford.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Passion Ford today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2008, 05:50 PM   #1
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (21)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Focus coolant temp sensor--Where is it??????

On a W reg 2000 1.6 Zetec black top

Where is the coolant temp sensor guys? Its the same thermostat housing as the silvertop but without the top tapped for the coolant temp sensor, so where is it? Is it inside the housing?

If you want to replace it do you have to replace the whole housing? And if so where are the wires/how are they located?

The fans are NEVER cutting in and temp gauge won't EVER go higher than exactly halfway so I think its this

Cheers
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 07:44 PM   #2
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 15,913
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to RichieST
Default

pretty sure its between 2nd and 3rd plug, or this could be the case with the 1.8/2.0.

Does it have a/c? If so, put that on and the fans should cut in, at least you know they work. My focus 1.6 gauge never ever budged from half way either, and the fan would only cut in on the hottest of days being sat in traffic. Dont worry about it unless the gauge creeps past half way.
__________________
RichieST is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 07:52 PM   #3
sebspring
Winker
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

as he says. it si measured on teh back of the head or something like this.

put the a/c switch on or put the direction fan to windscreen with fans on and that switches it on as well
sebspring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 08:01 PM   #4
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 15,913
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to RichieST
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebspring View Post
put the direction fan to windscreen with fans on and that switches it on as well
only the post-facelift focus's will do this
__________________
RichieST is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 09:04 PM   #5
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (21)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jungleistmassiv View Post
pretty sure its between 2nd and 3rd plug, or this could be the case with the 1.8/2.0.

Does it have a/c? If so, put that on and the fans should cut in, at least you know they work. My focus 1.6 gauge never ever budged from half way either, and the fan would only cut in on the hottest of days being sat in traffic. Dont worry about it unless the gauge creeps past half way.
Well it was boiling over and the gauge still only read halfway which has led me to this conclusion!

Its a very early (W) Focus, 1.6; so is it on the back of the head then?
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 11:18 PM   #6
cjwood555
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Solihull
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to cjwood555
Default

yeah as above it's a Cylinder Head Temperature Sensor rather than coolant temp sensor....
the guage is driven over the CAN bus / SCP link and only is programmed to stay in the middle once up to temperature unless the temp varies dangerously. This was apparently because there was a large number of complaints of 'high running temperatures' in foci, despite the lack of a scale on the guage!

Ok so that probably doesn't help, but a failed CHT would probably result in rough running when cold. Have you checked fuses and relays? Also worth testing the fan itself directly off the battery....

Chris
cjwood555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2008, 04:07 PM   #7
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 15,913
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to RichieST
Default

I'd firstly get the thermostat and expansion tank cap changed. Does it boil over all the time, or just when its sat idling?
__________________
RichieST is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2008, 04:23 PM   #8
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (21)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just when idling, as obviously when moving there is air going through the rad

I think stat is fine as once warm I felt the pipe and water was going through
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 12:08 PM   #9
Zetecfiesta
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Westhoughton Bolton
Posts: 4,181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Zetecfiesta
Default

did anybody find the location of the coolent head temp sensor as im looking for it now and cant find it!
Zetecfiesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 06:55 PM   #10
cjwood555
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Solihull
Posts: 2,090
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to cjwood555
Default

as above, it's a head temperature sensor, not a coolant temp sensor - it's between spark plugs 2 and 3....
cjwood555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2009, 02:57 PM   #11
mark.evs
newbie
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

first i'd like to say hi as im new to your site, looks great and will probily be on here a bit.

I'm searching for this invisable sensor too, Its for an 1800 black top zetec 1998. its not between plugs 2 and 3 in the cam cover and not in the stat housing. it's been on diagnostic maching and it found a fault with the 'engine management cooling temp switch'. any ideas? it's not under the cam cover is it? many thanks.
mark.evs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2009, 03:16 PM   #12
Csm
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bonnie Scotland
Posts: 5,792
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Under the cam cover matey
Csm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2009, 03:19 PM   #13
mark.evs
newbie
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers, the haynes book showed it being in the cover. it's been driving me nuts for weeks. Thanks again.
mark.evs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2009, 10:45 AM   #14
mark.evs
newbie
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bridgend
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it's not under the cover either. any other ideas?
mark.evs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2012, 02:59 PM   #15
richard21172
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Devon
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did the original problem get fixed ? i have the same issue on a Y reg focus
richard21172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2012, 05:47 PM   #16
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (21)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As far as I know, changing the thermostat fixed the problem!
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2012, 05:47 PM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
01, 20, 2000, 2004, coolant, fiesta, focus, ford, location, locations, replace, rs2000, sensor, temp, temperature, water

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coolant temp sensor on a cossie, where is it? rog General Car Related Discussion. 16 22-08-2006 07:13 AM
Coolant temp. sensor......volts? I8A4RE Ford Sierra / Sapphire / RS500 Cosworth 2 07-05-2006 03:42 PM
how do you test a coolant temp sensor? rs cos General Car Related Discussion. 2 06-02-2006 08:18 PM
coolant temp sensor davidreader5 Technical help Q & A 2 20-02-2005 01:19 PM
Engine coolant temp sensor steviep Technical help Q & A 3 01-02-2005 10:29 AM

Advertising - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 PM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.