PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Main area > General Car Related Discussion.
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos KBase Gold & Trader Accounts FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read GarageVendors
Search
Welcome to PassionFord

General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.
Sponsored by Cartown
Click Here

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29-09-2004, 02:10 PM   #1
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default whos clued up on efi engine looms?

wiring all mine into the erst (frst loom)
i have 3 spare trianguler connectors is this correct were do they go or what they for??

cheers
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 02:16 PM   #2
turbo.jon
Advanced PassionFord User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: lowestoft/suffolk
Posts: 1,640
Rep Power: 11
turbo.jon is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to turbo.jon
Default

hi mate dont no if he can help but pm 1.9 xr2 on 40's as i no he done efi conversion on his series 2.
__________________

(cars now sold)
turbo.jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 02:18 PM   #3
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

chhers hopefully he will see this post
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 03:00 PM   #4
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 03:10 PM   #5
mark m
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 204
Rep Power: 11
mark m is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to mark m
Default

2 digonistioc contoctors (spellig) white black taped 2 gether and possibley a speed sencor wire
mark m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 03:25 PM   #6
Project ST
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 863
Rep Power: 11
Project ST is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Project ST
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark m
2 digonistioc contoctors (spellig) white black taped 2 gether and possibley a speed sencor wire
That's exactly what I was going to suggest. Not sure if it's the same on a scort but on a Fiesta the two diagnostic conns (a white and a black plug) come down to the battery area - front n/s of the engine bay on a scort where the MFi metering head would go. The other connector comes down between the inlet and the brake servo.

If you're still stuck, list up the wire colours of the plugs.

/Munk
__________________
Noodle...
Project ST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 04:17 PM   #7
Adam_BlackRS
Ex Ford Man
 
Adam_BlackRS's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,725
Rep Power: 17
Adam_BlackRS is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Adam_BlackRS
Default

Can you tell which ones it is from this pic of mine ?????

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________



Audi S4 - 362.7bhp & 406.5lb-ft
Adam_BlackRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 04:20 PM   #8
Twins
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (17)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ESSEX
Posts: 17,332
Rep Power: 27
Twins is on a distinguished road
Default

pm gadget im sure he will br able to help ya
__________________

My carbon clad s2
Twins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 04:22 PM   #9
CraigN
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 6,208
Rep Power: 17
CraigN is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to CraigN Send a message via Yahoo to CraigN
Default

the 2 black with red plugs in are diag ports as said above

if the other comes off by the EDIS module it is for the speed sensor
CraigN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 05:20 PM   #10
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

cheers

so speed sensor whats that for?? or were does that go?
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 05:22 PM   #11
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

is the one for the Crank sensor the one that right on its own with alon bit of lead with a plastic sleeve at teh end of the connector? i take it???
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 06:47 PM   #12
Project ST
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 863
Rep Power: 11
Project ST is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Project ST
Default

Crank sensor is on far bottom left. This one is critical so make sure the insulation is good and the wiring has virtually zero resistance between the plug and the connection at the E-DIS module or ECU (can't remember which but fairly sure it comes down to the E-DIS).

Any EFi/CFi/SEFi injection speed sensor can be used - it loves on top of the gearbox where the speedo cable screws in and the cable then screws into the top of it, and it's used to keep engine revs up while moving along (supposed to make low speed driving smoother) - it's not vital for the engine to run well.

Last point - make sure you use the FRST inlet air temp sensor - it uses a Weber (injector-style) plug instead of the Ford one used on the ERST and n/a engines - if you've got the wrong sensor, your engine will run pretty flat as the ECU will retard ignition far earlier than it should.

hth - Munki
__________________
Noodle...
Project ST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 07:01 PM   #13
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

ok cheers whats the one on the far botom right then??
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 07:20 PM   #14
scort
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chard, Somerset
Posts: 334
Rep Power: 10
scort is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to scort
Default

Would try and use an EFi XR3i loom mate if I were you.

Steve
__________________
An ounce of prevention, provides a pound of cure.....
scort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 07:21 PM   #15
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

shouldnt be no different mate frst just as good
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 07:23 PM   #16
L33 BYT
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SUFFOLK
Posts: 7,482
Rep Power: 18
L33 BYT is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to L33 BYT
Default

How you gettin onwith track car Roosie.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Regards
Lee
L33 BYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 07:27 PM   #17
scort
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chard, Somerset
Posts: 334
Rep Power: 10
scort is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to scort
Default

It is but locates the ECU in a real awkward place. The EEC ECU's are not weatherproofed like the original RST ECU's.

It Also means you have to splice the ERST loom of its wiring.

Thus leaving a dodgy looking engine bay.

However, your right, it will work.

www.chardcars.co.uk

Steve
__________________
An ounce of prevention, provides a pound of cure.....
scort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 07:55 PM   #18
Rolls
PassionFord Post Troll
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,429
Rep Power: 14
Rolls is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosie
ok cheers whats the one on the far botom right then??
ama ,and EDIS earth- make sure this has a good earth, or the car won't spark!
Rolls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 08:06 PM   #19
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

its more or less done lee just need this loom wired ie the 8 wires togot the relays ect

im putting ecu in same place were old one was
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 08:07 PM   #20
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

AMA???????????????
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 08:14 PM   #21
Rolls
PassionFord Post Troll
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,429
Rep Power: 14
Rolls is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

amal, soz!
Rolls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 08:16 PM   #22
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

i mean on that pic rolls amal aint that one!!!
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 08:18 PM   #23
Bread
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Bread's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Castleford, UK
Posts: 526
Rep Power: 10
Bread is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Bread Send a message via Yahoo to Bread
Default

mine is xr2i loom im mk4 escort
__________________

YES! i drive an estate!
Bread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 08:20 PM   #24
Rolls
PassionFord Post Troll
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,429
Rep Power: 14
Rolls is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

it defo looks like the amal, with the oil pressure sensor next to it, and the map, and co2 pot above it...... above that is the ISCV connection...............
Rolls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2004, 10:33 PM   #25
1.9 xr2 on 40's
st170 breaking
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: norfolk
Posts: 5,300
Rep Power: 16
1.9 xr2 on 40's will become famous soon enough1.9 xr2 on 40's will become famous soon enough
Default

deffo the amel 1, called a 'boost control valve' in the haynes


on mine the ecu is tucked behind the battery
works but not ideal, in the car via a xr3i efi loom would be better, when i done it, it was just to get the car mot'd and i didnt have a erst lump to hand but i did have a frst 1
mite go back to erst when this lump blows, which im sure it wil
__________________
please someone sell me a mk4 escort front bumper in grey
1.9 xr2 on 40's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 02:29 AM   #26
Project ST
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 863
Rep Power: 11
Project ST is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Project ST
Default

Hope this helps you mate:

Click the image to open in full size.

/Munki
__________________
Noodle...
Project ST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 06:26 AM   #27
Adam_BlackRS
Ex Ford Man
 
Adam_BlackRS's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,725
Rep Power: 17
Adam_BlackRS is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Adam_BlackRS
Default

Project ST,

Yes, them loose wires are for the immobiliser, removed now.
__________________



Audi S4 - 362.7bhp & 406.5lb-ft
Adam_BlackRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 07:17 AM   #28
Roosie
500bhp Cosworth in making

 
Roosie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brandon
Posts: 9,080
Rep Power: 20
Roosie is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Roosie
Default

thats all sorted cheers mate
Roosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 08:01 AM   #29
CraigN
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 6,208
Rep Power: 17
CraigN is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to CraigN Send a message via Yahoo to CraigN
Default

the speed sensor actually leans off fueling at certain revs according to simon @ SECS tho

dunno how true this is

but it was meant to be there so i let it be
CraigN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2004, 08:01 AM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2