PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Main area > General Car Related Discussion.
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos KBase Gold & Trader Accounts FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read GarageVendor Directory
Search
Welcome to PassionFord

General Car Related Discussion. To discuss anything that is related to cars and automotive technology that doesnt naturally fit into another forum catagory.
Sponsored by Cartown
Click Here

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16-02-2007, 04:28 PM   #1
Ollie MK5 Turbo
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Ollie MK5 Turbo
Default MK5 Escort Fuse Box(New box but now bigger problem) Help!!!!

The Fuse box in my escort is giving me problems. (Dry joints on the board).
Can I replace this with a Fuse box from any MK5 Escort? Or are there different types? Are Escort Cosworth Fuse Boxs the same?

Thanks
Ollie
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
Ollie MK5 Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:31 PM   #2
St3V3_C
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 9,066
Default

Different with options e.g. electric windows IIRC
__________________



PUNCTUATION....

The difference between knowing your shit and knowing you're shit.

_____________________
St3V3_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:33 PM   #3
Ollie MK5 Turbo
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Ollie MK5 Turbo
Default

Are the Differences not just the Fuses and relays plugged into the box?
Ollie MK5 Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:35 PM   #4
graham c
PassionFord Post Whore!!

 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: preston
Posts: 4,145
Default

think their is five differant ones
__________________

just dont tell the wife how much it really cost
graham c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:36 PM   #5
St3V3_C
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 9,066
Default

No, it's the number of main feeds in from memory - the big wires that are connected to bolt type terminals on the back of the box.
__________________



PUNCTUATION....

The difference between knowing your shit and knowing you're shit.

_____________________
St3V3_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:36 PM   #6
paul16v
Monte 087
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hartlepool
Posts: 4,203
Default

Wenny is having the same problem at the minute with his monte, ford wanted about £280 for a new fusebox , so we wrote the part number down of it and we picked an escort up at the auction this morning for £85 with the correct fusebox in it, so just jot the partnumber down and go hunting through the scrappys
paul16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:44 PM   #7
Ollie MK5 Turbo
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Ollie MK5 Turbo
Default

Some pictures of the box and the problems.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
That’s the story I got from fords. £280 for my box But the Escort Cosworth are half the price.
Ollie MK5 Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:56 PM   #8
graham c
PassionFord Post Whore!!

 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: preston
Posts: 4,145
Default

a good auto lecy should fix ,it i had mine fix on my large turbo esort 2 years ago
__________________

just dont tell the wife how much it really cost
graham c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 04:56 PM   #9
St3V3_C
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 9,066
Default

Yea, so having those 3 bolts on the back, yours *might* be the same as the esc cos
__________________



PUNCTUATION....

The difference between knowing your shit and knowing you're shit.

_____________________
St3V3_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 05:04 PM   #10
paul16v
Monte 087
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hartlepool
Posts: 4,203
Default

Quote:
That’s the story I got from fords. £280 for my box But the Escort Cosworth are half the price.
Yeh thats what they told him till it arrived yesterday and it was the wrong 1 and suddenly the price nearly doubled so even the cosworths must use a couple of different ones.
paul16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 05:42 PM   #11
AlexF
10K+ Poster!!
 
AlexF's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Newbury
Posts: 13,146
Alex Flower
Send a message via MSN to AlexF
Default

whats the part number?

I might have a spare!


Alex
__________________


"Judging by the car you have chosen, you are a motorist of a special breed, and you are probably no novice when it comes to automobiles." . . . 928 S4 Owner's Manual 1987
AlexF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 05:52 PM   #12
Ollie MK5 Turbo
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Ollie MK5 Turbo
Default

Going down fords tomorrow so will ask them to get the fuse boxs out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexF
whats the part number?

I might have a spare!


Alex
My fuse box is

93AG14A073BAA
01/06/1993

Ollie
Ollie MK5 Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 06:28 PM   #13
Fudgey
Super pussy eater
 
Fudgey's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Changing another nappy!
Posts: 19,022
Default

i just resoldered every joint i could get an iron to on mine and it was fine after.

i may have the one from my mk6 escort in the garage, im going over tomoz so ill see if i can find it...
__________________
Built by Ford, refined in Fudgeys garage!
CLICK! \/
Fudgey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 07:39 PM   #14
Rs Gary
PassionFord Regular
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kent
Posts: 416
Default

you need to match the last 3 letters or numbers,so as yours is a BAA thats what you got to replace it with, mine is a bbd and i have got 2 mk5 escorts and both have gone tits up,i got a new 1 from the small ford center in rochester kent for £150 and my m8 repaired 1 for me
cheeRS gary
AKA shrek
Rs Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 07:41 PM   #15
Rs Gary
PassionFord Regular
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kent
Posts: 416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fudgeass
i just resoldered every joint i could get an iron to on mine and it was fine after.

i may have the one from my mk6 escort in the garage, im going over tomoz so ill see if i can find it...
mk6 fuse box will not fit a mk5 the power wires are not the same the mk5 has 3 the mk6 has 2
cheeRS gary
AKA shrek
Rs Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 07:42 PM   #16
dannyblackpool
Boost Builder
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackpool
Posts: 3,272
Turbo Rebuild
Send a message via MSN to dannyblackpool Send a message via Yahoo to dannyblackpool
Default

as per shrek
dannyblackpool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 11:47 AM   #17
Ollie MK5 Turbo
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Ollie MK5 Turbo
Default

Ok got an update. Got a new fuse box from fords today (93AG14A073BAA) same as my old one. But I now have a problem of when I turn the key I get all the normal dash lights on and the engine can start but when I take the key out the engine keeps running and all the dash lights are still on..

Arrr Help
Ollie MK5 Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 12:34 PM   #18
saffsta
Advanced PassionFord User
 
saffsta's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Epsom Surrey
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to saffsta
Default

Oooooer Ollie your cars got a mind of its own lol
saffsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 12:42 PM   #19
FletchCossie
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sutton, Surrey.
Posts: 4,058
Default

Ollie, I had same problem in a Escort Van. Believe it or not it turned out to be the rear light bulb holders. Van would still run till you hit the brake!

As per fuse box I got mine off your bro for £200 iirc. He got the one specified for my Cos (£100 odd), but it had wrong part number on it. So he got me the one matching mine and it was £50-£100 more

Corrected all my problems, but my standard boost gauge, etc dont work anymore Think we missed a connector somewhere!
__________________
FletchCossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 11:21 PM   #20
fish99
Advanced PassionFord User
 
fish99's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,677
Default

I got mine from fords last year for my escos and it cost me £280 IIRC.
__________________
fish99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 11:50 PM   #21
adamS2RST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bucks
Posts: 17,976
Send a message via MSN to adamS2RST
Default

Fooking MK5's and fusebox's! Had the same problem on my old runabout, fooker kept blowing fuses!
adamS2RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 11:28 AM   #22
fish99
Advanced PassionFord User
 
fish99's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,677
Default

I dug out the box my fuse box came in from fords for my 93 Escos: 93AG14A073BAA FINIS code looks like 6728095...defo cost me the best part of £300.
__________________
fish99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 11:32 AM   #23
fish99
Advanced PassionFord User
 
fish99's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,677
Default

I dug out the box my fuse box came in from fords for my 93 Escos: 93AG14A073BAA FINIS code looks like 6728095...defo cost me the best part of £300.
__________________
fish99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 11:51 AM   #24
iansoutham
OCD Victim
 
iansoutham's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamoan mother fukcer
you need to match the last 3 letters or numbers,so as yours is a BAA thats what you got to replace it with, mine is a bbd and i have got 2 mk5 escorts and both have gone tits up,i got a new 1 from the small ford center in rochester kent for £150 and my m8 repaired 1 for me
cheeRS Gary
AKA shrek
Don't bother. I used to work there once. New boxes are direct from Ford and if you can get discount @ your local dealer, it will be cheaper. (there are 3 remaining types BAA, BBD and one other I can't remember). All other versions are superceeded to those.

In fairness though, the rebuilt ones are good. The bloke who taught me (guy called Alan), although he is a [insert comment] and me and him don't see eye to eye anymore unfortunately, he does know what he is doing with them. Same as alternators and starter motors, he used to work for a place that built them and taught me everything I know about them.

Point to note: if your fusebox has green "gunge" in it, or stains, get the windscreen checked, as we used to get loads come in with that and everyone one, when checked needed the windscreen resealing.

Make sure you mark ALL the fuses, relay locations and bridge bars BEFORE you strip the old fusebox, one bit in the wrong place and cause more problems that you had before.

Also, the 1st item normally to go on a fusebox in a MK5 is the interior heater blower. If this goes, the rest of the box will not be far behind.

MK6 boxes (1995 onwards) have busbars instead of a printed circuit board and no longer have this issue.
__________________
"What is your major malfunction soldier?"

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at kermit.axnoc.net. I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
iansoutham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 11:57 AM   #25
GazzaG
15K+ Super Poster!!

 
GazzaG's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 16,364
Gazrs2000
Default

If all goes to plan in the next few weeks, ill have a mk5b ghia si


if the fusebox will fit outa that its yours
__________________
Mondeo TDCI 130
GazzaG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 12:06 PM   #26
Ollie MK5 Turbo
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Surrey
Posts: 1,196
Send a message via MSN to Ollie MK5 Turbo
Default

Thanks for your help all but I still have the problem with the Ignition staying on when I remove the key.
I have check all the Relays and buzz bars and all are in the same place as before.

Any more Ideas. ?

Thanks Ollie
Ollie MK5 Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 06:33 PM   #27
iansoutham
OCD Victim
 
iansoutham's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie MK5 Turbo
Thanks for your help all but I still have the problem with the Ignition staying on when I remove the key.
I have check all the Relays and buzz bars and all are in the same place as before.

Any more Ideas. ?

Thanks Ollie
Is it the same code as your old one or have you been sold the wrong one?
__________________
"What is your major malfunction soldier?"

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at kermit.axnoc.net. I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
iansoutham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 01:04 PM   #28
esccosnut
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sawston, cambridge
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie MK5 Turbo View Post
Ok got an update. Got a new fuse box from fords today (93AG14A073BAA) same as my old one. But I now have a problem of when I turn the key I get all the normal dash lights on and the engine can start but when I take the key out the engine keeps running and all the dash lights are still on..

Arrr Help
hi ollie, ive got an rs2000 4x4 on an m-reg '94!! and having same problems wit my fuse box!! have u had any luck sorting urs??? my trouble started with intrmitent windows/wipers/ and indicators failed, have soldered dry joints and re-fitted but now got the ignition key removed and engine running issue just like urs!! any info would b good!!
esccosnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 01:19 PM   #29
kjc300
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,833
Default

Ollie, you haven't changed the central locking/alarm box have you - behind the drivers side kick panel??

Or if your one is fooked it could be that.

My boot popper stopped working and kept draining the battery and I traced it to the central locking box :-

looks like this

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Escort-mark-5-...#ht_500wt_1182

I tried fitting one from a later car (blue label) and it did the exact thing you described!!!
__________________
Cheers, Kev.

kjc300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2009, 10:48 PM   #30
cabby3i
i wish i was a virgin lol
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: uk
Posts: 67
Default

any one had intermitant starting prob's caused by a dodgy fuse board?? i.e some times the car will start fine and other day's wont start for the life of the battery? i have a mk 5 xr3i cabby that got a mind of it's own, starts for day's on end fine and other day's wont start at all,

after reading this thread i take it me heater blower aint working cuz of the fuse board then? LOL.. are they easy to open up to have a look at the condition of the board?



cheer's
cabby3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 03:10 PM   #31
BGomes
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iansoutham View Post
...there are 3 remaining types BAA, BBD and one other I can't remember). All other versions are superceeded to those.

In fairness though, the rebuilt ones are good..
Anybody have access to a BBD version of the fusebox complete with the heated front screen relay on the box ? Mine's packed up, so has the relay. Please PM
BGomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2011, 04:30 AM   #32
stucapri2.9iTT
Part of the Furniture

 
stucapri2.9iTT's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: swindon
Posts: 166
wiltshie_classic ford_club
Default

need help finding a fuse box with the code bbb

thanks stuart
stucapri2.9iTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2011, 06:53 AM   #33
iansoutham
OCD Victim
 
iansoutham's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stucapri2.9iTT View Post
need help finding a fuse box with the code bbb

thanks stuart
Code BBB suprceeded to code BBD

Code BB is still current.
__________________
"What is your major malfunction soldier?"

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at kermit.axnoc.net. I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
iansoutham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2011, 07:10 AM   #34
djmillsy
Fife Radge
 
djmillsy's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Cumnock Hometown: Rosyth
Posts: 2,939
djmillsy83 djmilsy83
Send a message via MSN to djmillsy
Default

you need to match the exact code i had to replace mine found one that was the same bar the year and its was the wrong one. i got the exact match and never had a problem
__________________

PSN I.D djmillsy83
djmillsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2011, 07:10 AM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
51, bars, board, box, buzz, cosworth, escort, fuse, ignition, mk, number, radio, relay, remove, van, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2