PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Ford car Forums listed by Model. > Ford Sierra / Sapphire / RS500 Cosworth
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Ford Sierra / Sapphire / RS500 Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

Welcome to Passion Ford!
Welcome to Passion Ford.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Passion Ford today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2005, 12:32 PM   #1
Cosworth-PT
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 224
Default Removing recirc DV

I want to do some tests without the (original) recirculating dv. Could anyone tell me how to do it?

besides the plug at it's place, what to do with it's tubes? the one that comes from engine to dv, and the other one that comes from the actuator to amal?

thanks
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
Cosworth-PT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 01:08 PM   #2
XR4Timan
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
XR4Timan's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas USA
Posts: 924
Default

You can remove the recirc DV by just plugging the spout on the IC. You can leave the other port open (on the air cleaner hose from the turbo inlet).

The thin manifold vacuum hose to the DV just needs to be plugged. Some people just use a 'screw' they have lying around.

As far as the hose to the actuator to the amal valve - my recommendation is to leave it alone. Basically it's a computer-controlled "bleed valve". When the ECU gives the signal, it will allow air to bypass the wastgate actuator, tricking the wastegate by increasing the boost above what the wastegate is set to. If you don't understand how the concept works, leave it well alone.
__________________

1986 Sierra Cosworth
http://www.geocities.com/merouby
XR4Timan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 01:28 PM   #3
Cosworth-PT
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XR4Timan
You can remove the recirc DV by just plugging the spout on the IC. You can leave the other port open (on the air cleaner hose from the turbo inlet).

The thin manifold vacuum hose to the DV just needs to be plugged. Some people just use a 'screw' they have lying around.

As far as the hose to the actuator to the amal valve - my recommendation is to leave it alone. Basically it's a computer-controlled "bleed valve". When the ECU gives the signal, it will allow air to bypass the wastgate actuator, tricking the wastegate by increasing the boost above what the wastegate is set to. If you don't understand how the concept works, leave it well alone.
Thanks. I said about the amal-actuator hose but it has nothing to do with what I want. tks for remembering me
Cosworth-PT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 01:48 PM   #4
Mad_Ad_300bhp
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chorley, Lancs
Posts: 216
Default

just plug the vac line mate, no need to pull off the recirc to the air filter
__________________
now breaking my 2wd cosworth
http://www.passionford.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=163087

2.0 16 v Nova now in progress

Mad_Ad_300bhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 01:50 PM   #5
Cosworth-PT
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad_Ad_300bhp
just plug the vac line mate, no need to pull off the recirc to the air filter
do you mean: to leave the recirc at it's place and just plug the vac line?
Cosworth-PT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 02:00 PM   #6
XR4Timan
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
XR4Timan's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas USA
Posts: 924
Default

Yes. You can do that too. However if the diaphram of the recirc DV is bad, you'd still want to plug the port.
__________________

1986 Sierra Cosworth
http://www.geocities.com/merouby
XR4Timan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 02:00 PM   #7
Mad_Ad_300bhp
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chorley, Lancs
Posts: 216
Default

yeh just take off the little vac pipe and put a bolt in it. as the valve will be shut theres no need to block the bigger recirc pipe off.
__________________
now breaking my 2wd cosworth
http://www.passionford.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=163087

2.0 16 v Nova now in progress

Mad_Ad_300bhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 02:13 PM   #8
Cosworth-PT
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 224
Default

thanks. will give it a try.
Cosworth-PT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 04:11 PM   #9
Mad_Ad_300bhp
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chorley, Lancs
Posts: 216
Default

yeh i suppose if you are doing it too if the diaphram is fookered then try it with that blocked aswell( get a broom handle!)
__________________
now breaking my 2wd cosworth
http://www.passionford.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=163087

2.0 16 v Nova now in progress

Mad_Ad_300bhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2005, 06:09 PM   #10
Cosworth-PT
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad_Ad_300bhp
yeh i suppose if you are doing it too if the diaphram is fookered then try it with that blocked aswell( get a broom handle!)
Thanks.

This is strange: with or without recirc DV, every sound (chatter) is just the same, does this means that DV is broken? I have this 2wd since May and allways made the same sounds
Cosworth-PT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2005, 06:22 AM   #11
XR4Timan
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
XR4Timan's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas USA
Posts: 924
Default

I would check the vacuum line. Put your finger on it when the engine is running. Better still, replace it with another DV and check it out.
__________________

1986 Sierra Cosworth
http://www.geocities.com/merouby
XR4Timan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2005, 06:22 AM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:09 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.