PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Ford car Forums listed by Model. > Ford Sierra / Sapphire / RS500 Cosworth
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Ford Sierra / Sapphire / RS500 Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

Welcome to Passion Ford!
Welcome to Passion Ford.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Passion Ford today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2012, 06:39 PM   #1
Mungus
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Mungus's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Wales - Never Forget Your Welsh!
Posts: 734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Mungus
Default Trouble with setting Co - Cosworth

Evening all,

Took my Cossie for a pre MOT, most keen to see what the emissions are like!!

.
.
.
.
8% Co at idle!!
Didnt suprise me as the plugs have been black and the gaps were at 0.5mm - ive since set them to 0.65

So having read lots about Co's and fuel pressures, I went about dropping the Co down to a sensible rate. The setting screw by turning it anti clockwise dropped it down, but just to 3.5% - it would not drop any lower (ideally looking for 2.5%).

Its going to be setup next month, but I worried myself into thinking there maybe a problem with my ECU and I dont want to travel to a tuner only to find that out there and then!! Game over.

I did take the top off the ecu and checked/confirmed that the adjuster had contact with the gubbins inside.

Any ideas guys?? Chip is NMS for T34 and greys.
Huw
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.

Last edited by Mungus; 26-04-2012 at 06:42 PM..
Mungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 09:02 PM   #2
andycos
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Had the same problem as you with my stage 1 sapphire,and tried the same things as you.
My problem turned out to be the map sensor on its way out,once changed it was back to normal again
In my case the car was running perfect still,but i had only just got it back out of storage so hadnt done many miles.
andycos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 10:01 PM   #3
Mungus
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Mungus's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Wales - Never Forget Your Welsh!
Posts: 734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Mungus
Default

Thanks for your reply - getting the fuel pressure checked tomorrow as I have a possible theory.....

Out of interest, is there a min/max number of times that Co screw will turn before reaching a stopper?

I have logged all changes to return if necessary but the Co screw seemed to just turn and turn. It went 4 full revolutions until it reached 3.5% Co, but didnt go below that. Doesnt seem right to be so have returned as it was.

Is there an electrical test you can do on the map sensor - I would like to rule that out.

Huw
Mungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 10:06 PM   #4
JamesH
10K+ Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (21)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: .
Posts: 10,686
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I hope you marked the CO screw first?

Ring NMS
JamesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 10:11 PM   #5
Mungus
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Mungus's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Wales - Never Forget Your Welsh!
Posts: 734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Mungus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesH View Post
I hope you marked the CO screw first?

Ring NMS
Owww yes!
Yeah will ring in the morning as im due up there next month - as I said, just didnt want to go all that way and have a knackered ecu
Mungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 10:20 PM   #6
andycos
Regular Contributor
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Have a look at this old thread about setting the co mixture

http://passionford.com/forum/ford-si...g-idle-co.html
andycos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 11:48 PM   #7
Karl
PassionFord Post Troll
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Karl
Default

Hi Huw,

I map all my greys cars to idle around 4 - 5% CO. If your car is just running an off the shelf chip or one from another car, then it will only achieve that CO level if the engine is pulling at least -0.65bar at idle. If it is pulling less vacuum then it will be richer at idle than that.

I do not run greys car leaner than that at idle, because the spray pattern of a grey is very poor and due to the variation in idle fueling caused by heat soak and hot restart, a greys YB mapped leaner than 4 - 5% CO will at times idle poorly.
__________________
Best regards,

Karl Norris
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 08:26 AM   #8
Mungus
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Mungus's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Wales - Never Forget Your Welsh!
Posts: 734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Mungus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl View Post
Hi Huw,

I map all my greys cars to idle around 4 - 5% CO. If your car is just running an off the shelf chip or one from another car, then it will only achieve that CO level if the engine is pulling at least -0.65bar at idle. If it is pulling less vacuum then it will be richer at idle than that.

I do not run greys car leaner than that at idle, because the spray pattern of a grey is very poor and due to the variation in idle fueling caused by heat soak and hot restart, a greys YB mapped leaner than 4 - 5% CO will at times idle poorly.
Morning Karl,

Thanks very much for that - I think I will leave it till I see you on 17th May
Its one of your chips


BTW - how would I fare MOT time with idle co @ 4%?
Mungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 11:34 PM   #9
martysmartie
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
martysmartie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,495
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Be careful as well playing around with the "Global mod" as it's called, aka co screw as it subtracts a percentage from the fuel table so you can end up with it running lean up the top end etc, it's worth getting your AFR checked etc to be on the safe side IMO.

Martin
martysmartie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 11:34 PM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
cosworth, idle, l8, map, passionford, reset

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.