L8 - PassionFord
PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Ford car Forums listed by Model. > Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth


Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

L8

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2010, 05:54 PM   #1
bad boy rs
PassionFord Post Whore!!
iTrader: (7)
 
bad boy rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watFORD
Posts: 4,571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default L8

Ive got hold of a red l8 ecu off shaun655 on here its not working but gives me something to play around with

Do you need to run a baby board or it it just a decoder for certian chips ?

dont know anything about these ecus but i do plan on getting it working

any info appreciated
__________________


395 bhp & 410 lb/ft
bad boy rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:10 PM   #2
oldford
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

There's a lot of info here: http://bigturbo.co.uk/
oldford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:13 PM   #3
bad boy rs
PassionFord Post Whore!!
iTrader: (7)
 
bad boy rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watFORD
Posts: 4,571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cheers for that mate ive looked on there but doesnt say about the baby board
__________________


395 bhp & 410 lb/ft
bad boy rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:19 PM   #4
JTECH James
Passion for Fords!
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Devon/Blackpool
Posts: 10,754
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

if you run a L8 without a baby board it is not a L8, and would actually run with a L6 chip!

hence, i cant belive it when people buy L8 ecus from people without a board...its not a L8 without it lol and then they get charged extra to get the board from them, for the L8 they got that wasnt a L8 because they took the board out
__________________
JAMES

Last edited by JTECH James; 08-02-2010 at 07:22 PM.
JTECH James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:22 PM   #5
bad boy rs
PassionFord Post Whore!!
iTrader: (7)
 
bad boy rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watFORD
Posts: 4,571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so its the baby board that carrys the extra ram ?
__________________


395 bhp & 410 lb/ft
bad boy rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:25 PM   #6
JTECH James
Passion for Fords!
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Devon/Blackpool
Posts: 10,754
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

im not to sure what the board carrys tbh, i know the base ecu is very similar to the L6 bar a few bits
__________________
JAMES
JTECH James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:37 PM   #7
bad boy rs
PassionFord Post Whore!!
iTrader: (7)
 
bad boy rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watFORD
Posts: 4,571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, do you do a testing / repair service at msd ?
__________________


395 bhp & 410 lb/ft
bad boy rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:40 PM   #8
JTECH James
Passion for Fords!
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Devon/Blackpool
Posts: 10,754
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

we can test but dont really get involved with repairs
__________________
JAMES
JTECH James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:48 PM   #9
bad boy rs
PassionFord Post Whore!!
iTrader: (7)
 
bad boy rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watFORD
Posts: 4,571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok mate cheers for the info , recived my diff mount at the weekend aswell
__________________


395 bhp & 410 lb/ft
bad boy rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 07:58 PM   #10
RS SHAUN
Advanced PassionFord User
iTrader: (24)
 
RS SHAUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Workington
Posts: 1,620
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shaun foster
Default

did you get my pm paul?
__________________
RS SHAUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 08:23 PM   #11
bad boy rs
PassionFord Post Whore!!
iTrader: (7)
 
bad boy rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watFORD
Posts: 4,571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah sorry mate forgot to pm back, i will get onto them boys
__________________


395 bhp & 410 lb/ft
bad boy rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 07:13 AM   #12
oldford
I've found that life I needed.. It's HERE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Standard L8 baby board is needed fior the extra RAM chip. That's all.
Standard L8 eprom needs the extra RAM, so it needs the baby board.
Some tuners also use a (different) baby board to protect their software from copying.
oldford is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:46 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.