problem with iddle - PassionFord
PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Ford car Forums listed by Model. > Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth


Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Sierra Cosworth.

problem with iddle

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-01-2010, 09:10 PM   #1
sundera86
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default problem with iddle

when i try to abjust rpm below 1300 at iddle from basic iddle screw the engine start to vibrate and dont work good. On cold engite it has vibration and very strong air leak from exaust smelling gasoline. Where is my problem
spark plugs or cables or another thing. I was with pts stage 3 chip and there is no this problem, but now i replace it with msd stage 3 non closed loop and the problem starts ? but yesterday i return the pts stage 3 and engine work at the same bad way as with msd stage 3 chip ?

Last edited by sundera86; 16-01-2010 at 09:18 PM.
sundera86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 10:57 PM   #2
LHD220Turbo
10K+ Poster!!
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: swindon, wiltshire
Posts: 10,645
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sundera86 View Post
when i try to abjust rpm below 1300 at iddle from basic iddle screw the engine start to vibrate and dont work good. On cold engite it has vibration and very strong air leak from exaust smelling gasoline. Where is my problem
spark plugs or cables or another thing. I was with pts stage 3 chip and there is no this problem, but now i replace it with msd stage 3 non closed loop and the problem starts ? but yesterday i return the pts stage 3 and engine work at the same bad way as with msd stage 3 chip ?
its cleary not the chip if its the same problem with the pts chip.

i would check your system for air leaks; is the screw in on the throttle body OK?
__________________
LHD220Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 11:25 PM   #3
martysmartie
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
martysmartie's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,683
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

The air leak can cause this problem if on the exhaust side.

Martin
martysmartie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 11:57 PM   #4
sundera86
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LHD220Turbo View Post
its cleary not the chip if its the same problem with the pts chip.

i would check your system for air leaks; is the screw in on the throttle body OK?
yes when i try to abjust the screw in throlttle body and put down rpm below 1300 to 1000 - 1100 rpm the engine start to vibrate very
sundera86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2010, 11:58 PM   #5
sundera86
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martysmartie View Post
The air leak can cause this problem if on the exhaust side.

Martin
air leak on the exaust before the turbo or after the turbo
sundera86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 07:00 AM   #6
English
Part of the Furniture
 
English's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm assuming you are turning the idle screw with the ISCV (Idle Speed Control Valve) disconnected.
English is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2010, 10:22 AM   #7
sundera86
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by English View Post
I'm assuming you are turning the idle screw with the ISCV (Idle Speed Control Valve) disconnected.
i abjust iddle screw with disconnected ISCV but anything below 1300 rpm start very strong engine vibrations
sundera86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 07:21 AM   #8
English
Part of the Furniture
 
English's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also assume you're doing it when the engine is up to temperature and not on cold start.

Take out the ISCV and thoroughly spray it with electrical contact cleaner. Push the plunger in and out a few times and clean it all out. Also, check the throttle body airways that the ISCV feeds air to and make sure they are clear.

That's the extent of my knowledge. Aside from that, others may be able to suggest things like throttle position sensor may need adjusting etc?

Maybe try checking your ECU for fault codes.

Hope this helps!
English is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 09:22 AM   #9
sundera86
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how can i clear fault codes on ecu
sundera86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2010, 09:17 AM   #10
English
Part of the Furniture
 
English's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's not clearing the codes. You can read if there are any faults with sensors on your car. The ECU has a self check mode.

You can make a small rig up to read the codes for a few pennys. Go to www.bigturbo.co.uk and it tells you under 'fault codes' how to check and read them.

Then, if you have any faults, you can fix them from there.
English is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2010, 05:12 PM   #11
sundera86
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by English View Post
I also assume you're doing it when the engine is up to temperature and not on cold start.

Take out the ISCV and thoroughly spray it with electrical contact cleaner. Push the plunger in and out a few times and clean it all out. Also, check the throttle body airways that the ISCV feeds air to and make sure they are clear.

That's the extent of my knowledge. Aside from that, others may be able to suggest things like throttle position sensor may need adjusting etc?

Maybe try checking your ECU for fault codes.

Hope this helps!
i reapleced throttle position sensor before one year? i dont know what is specific with it abjustment
sundera86 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil in Turbo Hoses DAZZER Ford Escort RS Turbo 5 30-09-2015 09:43 PM
Fitting rear beam with Powerflex bushes DavidK Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth 1 27-09-2015 03:55 PM
Heating engineers? Boiler problem in new house Ebonycossie4x4 General NON CAR Related Discussion. 3 27-09-2015 11:29 AM
Standard air box fouling boost hose Russ Payne Ford Sierra/Sapphire/RS500 Cosworth 1 25-09-2015 09:29 PM
Xr3i starting problem (ish) Shaunc Escort Range 4 23-09-2015 07:00 AM


Tags
engine, iddle, screw, starts, strong, vibration

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:47 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.